Summer pasta recipe

I typically don’t use this as a public forum to air my dirty laundry but I have to complain about something and you just happen to be the best audience. I have been a bit on edge lately and I was talking to my mom about it and she made a very interesting comment, she thinks this weather is starting to affect peoples’ personalities. I don’t know what the stat are (and I’m too lazy to look it up) but this has GOT to be one of the worst summers in history. I mean I could easily be wearing a coat right now, it is COLD! It is also the end of JUNE! So while I made this fabulous summer dish, I can hardly bite my tongue from saying, WHAT SUMMER?! Alas, mother nature could give a crap what I have to say, she’s just going to do what she wants so I will just continue to post summery recipes in the hopes it will someday come.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of dry spiral quinoa pasta (or your choice of pasta)
  • 2 handfuls of baby red potatoes
  • 1 cup of peas
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 1/3 cup of sun-dried tomatoes (regular grape tomatoes would work too)
  • Other veggie options: artichoke hearts, roasted red pepper, wilted spinach, etc.

Dressing (I got this from the lovely Julie at Shinning from Within)

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dijon mustard

Directions:

1. Cook the pasta according to directions on package. Put potatoes into a pot of water and boil until tender, about 10-15 minutes

2. Make your dressing by combining all the ingredients and whisking together. Set aside.

3. Rinse and dry pasta and potatoes, chop potatoes and combine with pasta in a large serving bowl. Add remaining veggies give it a little mixin’ and your set! I served mine with the dressing on the side so it didn’t all seep to the bottom of the bowl. I served this with a butternut squash, spinach and kale gratin (which I will post soon!)

Have a fabulous weekend everyone!

11 responses to “Summer pasta recipe

  1. Wow, I can’t believe it’s cold in Chicago. It’s so miserably hot here in Virginia. Want to trade?

  2. We were over 100 degrees the past couple days. I’d give anything to be cold right now. Wanna trade? πŸ™‚
    Your summery meal looks delicious. I didn’t know there was QUINOA pasta!

  3. Ohmigosh this looks absolutely incredible! πŸ™‚

  4. What a great recipe. Pasta is such a comforting dish πŸ™‚

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Looks delish! I love summery recipes!

  6. I’ve been feeling the same way! June has been way too cold! Ugh, I’m nervous about 4th of July! Your pasta looks delish though!

  7. Lenna (veganlenna)

    ThatΒ΄s a really nice recipe – easy, with simple ingredients, colorful and tasty. Good job! πŸ™‚

  8. shiningfromwithin

    woo! that looks delicious! I love sundried tomatoes. I could eat the whole jar with a big baguette. Hope you enjoyed the dressing πŸ™‚

  9. Rach @ This Italian Family

    Oh girl, so sorry you aren’t getting the summer weather yet. I dunno what I’d do if it were June and I still felt cold. Hopefully it will warm up SOON!

    And cute recipe!

  10. I hope it gets warmer for you girl! Thanks for sharing the awesome sounding recipe!

  11. Pingback: Butternut squash, kale and spinach gratin | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a comment