Vegan Banana Bread

Well apparently my little rant worked! Nothing but sunshine predicted for the next week! I guess I should rant more often…. Nah, I won’t do that to you. So on to the goodies – This little gem came to me when I looked at my fruit bowl and was discouraged by the brown bananas I saw. I HATE wasting food but I am kind of sick of bananas so I ho-ed and I hum-ed and then it came to me, like a revelation from above – I shall make banana bread, and I shall make it vegan with chocolate chips.

Ingredients:

  • 3 bananas
  • 1/2 cup of applesauce
  • 1/2 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Optional: flax seed, nuts, chocolate chips, etc.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large mixing bowl, mash bananas with a fork or potato masher. Add applesauce, maple syrup, and sugar. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt (and flax if desired).

2. Add the dry mixture to the wet and stir until thoroughly mixed. Add optional nuts or chocolate chips – of course, being the chocoholic that I am, I went with the chocolate chips πŸ™‚

3. Pour mixture into a greased loaf pan and bake for 50-60 minutes or until loaf is golden brown on top. Do the toothpick trick to make sure it is done though because mine was still pretty gooey (I like it that way though so I was ok with it)

4. When done to your liking, remove loaf from oven and cool for 5 minutes. Then proceed to dig in head first as I did πŸ™‚

 

 

14 responses to “Vegan Banana Bread

  1. I LOVE banana bread! And what great ingredients!! Looks yummy!

  2. I love a good slice of vegan banana bread. Your version looks a lot like my recipe, except I’ve always used white sugar and oil. I really like your idea of using maple syrup, and I will have to try that next time I need to get rid of all of the old bananas in my freezer.

  3. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog!

    Sounds great! Love the addition of choco chips!!!

  4. I made vegan blueberry muffins with banana and they were awesome but I think this looks better!

  5. I think if you made a cook book, I’d be your number one fan. I love your recipes! I’ve been looking for a good nanner bread recipe, it’s like you read my mind!

    Whitney

  6. I love banana bread! This looks delicious πŸ™‚ Your oven mitt is so cute!

  7. Man, I let food go to waste all the time. I’m so lame!

  8. I love my mother’s banana bread, but sadly I’ve been unable to have it since following a vegan diet. This looks like a delicious alternative. I can’t wait to try it!

  9. Your version looks delicious! I made some vegan banana bread a few days ago, and I might make more tonight for a dinner party with neighbors — everyone loves banana bread! πŸ™‚

  10. Mmmmm! Your loaf looks like it came out perfectly! This sounds like a great simple recipe πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

  11. This looks so yummy! I want to see a slice shot πŸ˜›
    I’m loving the addition of maple syrup, too

  12. I made this bread a few days ago the night before I was planning on serving it and 3/4 of it was gone before it could even make it to the next morning! I loved the maple flavor! I added 1/2 cup each of walnuts & chocolate chips and added 2 T milled flax seed. Since I was adding the chocolate chips I omitted the brown sugar and it was still plenty sweet (because of the banana and apple sauce). I will definitely be making this again! Just like you, I accidentally underbaked mine, but no one was complaining!

    • oh yay!!! I’m so glad u made it! That is great news about omitting the brown sugar, i was worried to do so but really would like to take that out or minimize it if i can. And i think i’ll add walnuts this time too, that sounds so good! Thanks for letting me know πŸ™‚

Leave a comment