Baked Veggie Ziti

Who doesn’t love pasta? There is something so comforting about it. Unfortunately it is usually loaded with carbs and fat. But never fear, Jessi is here! I found this awesome recipe in this month’s Cooking Light and made a few slight adaptations.

Ingredients

  • 1 box of Ziti (I used Dreamfields penne)
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 cups of chopped yellow squash
  • 1 cup of chopped zucchini
  • 1 cup of chopped eggplant
  • 1/2 cup of sweet yellow onion
  • 2 cups of tomato
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (I used a little more than that cuz I love this stuff)
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 cup of part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • cooking spray
  • Optional: 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper if you like a little kick to your pasta

Directions

1. Cook pasta according to package directions; drain. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add squash, zucchini and saute about 5 minutes. Then add Eggplant, onion, tomato and garlic, saute until soft. Remove from heat and stir in pasta, 1/2 cup of mozzarella, herbs, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and a few dashes of pepper.

3. Combine ricotta, remaining salt and egg. Stir into pasta mixture. Stir mixture into a baking dish coated with cooking spray. Sprinkle with remaining mozzarella and bake for 15 minutes. Broil on high for about a minute or until browning on top. Let sit for several minutes before serving. And enjoy!

12 responses to “Baked Veggie Ziti

  1. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog!

    Yum this looks delish! And I am italian so it certainly gets my stamp of approval lol! Not that it needed it 😉

  2. Yum this looks delicious I love the addition of veggies!

  3. this looks amazing! i think ill make it this weekend! thanks!

  4. I am so making this when my challenge is over!! 🙂

  5. Ouuuu I want this for dinner tonight!!

  6. Wow I am in need of making this. I love pasta 😀

  7. Rach @ This Italian Family

    Mmm… looks yummy!

  8. omg I saw this recipe too! I got it in an email from Cooking Light just yesterday or the day before. It had a lot of good reviews so I bookmarked it. Now I can’t wait to make it! Yours looks SO YUMMY! (:

  9. How about we don’t do lunch out and you just make me this for lunch?! Ha!! Looks so good!!

  10. Pingback: Dreamfields Pasta Review and Giveaway | Dishin' About Nutrition

  11. I’ve tried Dreamfield’s pasta before and liked it but a great gluten free/whole grain option is quinoa pasta or buckwheat soba noodles. I don’t worry much about the carb content because they are made purely from whole grains which is a very good thing!

Leave a comment