Mini Key Lime Pies

I love trying cute desserts and fun foods for entertaining, so when I saw this recipe on the VegWeb site I couldn’t wait to try it. I love it because it is healthy, raw, tasty and pre-portioned so it’s harder to over indulge. It is also a light, refreshing dessert which is great for the non-dessert kind of people who don’t want something heavy and rich after a big dinner (not saying that I am like that, cuz I’m not – bring on the heavy and rich!), but you know, I aim to please πŸ™‚ I would like to also point out that this recipe is raw, vegan, super nutrish and very delish!

Ingredients:

Filling

  • 2 avocados
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon of Kelapo coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons agave (I ran out so I used maple syrup – same diff)
  • Optional: for more lime/tangy flavor add some lime zest (I wish I would have done this)

Crust

  • 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour (you can also use part ground almonds)
  • 1/2 cup of dates (I used prunes and I had to add a few to make the mixture stick)
  • Dash of salt
  • Dash of nutmeg

Directions:

1. Blend filling ingredients until smooth – set aside

2. Process crust ingredients until well mixed and sticks together well

3. Lightly spray muffin tins with non-stick oil. Create small golf-ball sized balls of the crust mixture then press into the bottom of each muffin tin, like so

4. Spoon in the filling mixture and top with fruit. Freeze 1-2 hours or until right consistency to dig out but still stay together.

10 responses to “Mini Key Lime Pies

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    I LOVE that these use avocado!!! Such an awesome recipe!!! Nice!

  2. holy. Yum. Omg I need these in my life

  3. The filling looks SO creamy and delicious! I just want to eat it with a spoon! THis is perfect for the holiday weekend!

  4. Yummy! And how cool that they have avocado. I’m in love with avocado these days.

  5. These look delicious and they’re so cute! I’m such a sucker for mini foods πŸ™‚

  6. I know I would love this because I made a Mint Chocolate Pie that used avocados as the base for the filling and it was so delicious!!! I love key lime pie, too πŸ™‚

  7. Cool dessert!! And definitely ideal for summer! Yummy!

  8. Those are SO cute!!! I love it!

  9. My dad loves key lime pie so I’m def going to make these for him!! I’ll just have to leave out telling him that there are avocados in them πŸ™‚

  10. Pingback: Mini Lemon Pie’s | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a comment