Black Bean and Quinoa Burger

Prior to my going vegan/plant-based diet we would have burger night almost religiously once a week. Well last week I decided to play along and make my own veggie form so I didn’t feel left out. I decided to make these black bean and quinoa burgers/cakes and you better believe nobody finished their burgers because they all had one of MINE!!! Muah ha ha ha – I win. I couldn’t believe how great these turned out and how easy-peasey they were to whip up! All the ingredients are always stocked in my kitchen so there is no doubt that I will be making this very often from now on. The best part about this recipe is you can add whatever you want in it to change it up. Ideas I have for the future are corn, bell pepper, spinach, and mushrooms. (Recipe from Katy at the Singing Runner)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans
  • 1 c. cooked tri-color quinoa (~1/2 c. dry)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/4 c. chopped green pepper (not pictured)
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1/2 T fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1.5 tsp Old Bay Seasoning (or seasonings of your choice)
  • 1/2 T Nutritional Yeast
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 c. Panco crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon of veggie broth

Directions:

1) In a medium sauce pan, cook quinoa for 15 minutes.

2) While quinoa is cooking, rinse and drain beans with water. Then, in a medium bowl, mash up the beans until it reaches a uniform consistency.

3) Mince garlic and chop peppers. Then add garlic, peppers, tomato paste, lemon juice, Old Bay, black pepper, and nutritional yeast to beans. Mix until well combined.

4) On a plate, combine bread crumbs, veggie broth, and Old Bay.

5) Form small 2-inch patties, roll it in bread crumbs and set aside.

6) In a large skillet, cook patties 5 minutes on each side, or until patty reaches a golden brown color. I had steamed kale, veggies and a tomato and avocado salad – one delicioso meal!

15 responses to “Black Bean and Quinoa Burger

  1. These look great to me!! Great way to make a meat-meal veggie-friendly! 🙂

  2. I am not usually a fan of burgers (you know, the good old fashioned meat kind) but sometimes I do sort of crave one. Mostly to have something yummy with my sweet potatoes fries. 🙂

  3. What a great idea! I’ve been looking for different ways to use up my quinoa, so I’m excited to try it. 🙂

  4. This just may be dinner tonight! 🙂 Looks awesome! and even your boyfriend ate it?? That’s saying something – we’ll see if my hubby does 🙂

  5. Love your blog! Those burgers sound so good and full of flavor!
    I’d slap some avocado on that and call it a day. 🙂

  6. Glad you liked them and they were a hit! Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

  7. Oh I never think to use tomato paste. Nice addition of flavor.

  8. Yey for awesome homemade veggie burgers! 🙂 We used to be the same way with beef burgers. Two years ago we went to a new burger joint every week! Now we are simply digging the veggie burgers but have yet to make one that we love from scratch. I am going to have to try this recipe! 🙂

  9. These look tasty! I just became vegetarian 2 weeks ago, so I’m always looking for new veg recipes. I’ve got to try these!! I love all those ingredients 🙂

  10. oh thank you so much for the idea!! i am working to eat a lot more beans and this sounds delicious

  11. So glad you had success! I make a version using edamame, quinoa, oats,fresh corn and shredded whatever veggie I’ve got on hand- just be careful with spinach or mushrooms to cook seperatly first to evaporate their liquid, otherwise the patties won’t hold together at all……(Ask me why I know this!!)

  12. Oh! And I forgot to say sunflower seeds! They’re a must!!

  13. OMG – I made black bean burgers the other day too (and posted them on my blog). I love that you added quinoa!! (I used a flax/oat combo in mine)

Leave a comment