What I ate Wednesday (recipe for miso cucumber salad)

Per Jen’s request (at Peas and Crayons) I am actually participating in today’s WIAW by showing you my typical days worth of eats (I usually just post a recipe). I guess I assumed who would really care what I eat all day but since she mentioned it I thought I would give it a try. Let me know what ya think.

So breakfast is the same pretty much everyday: oatmeal with some high fiber cereal mixed in, agave nectar, nut butter, a banana and sprinkled with cinnamon.

For lunch I decided to try something new. I found these vegan faux-meats at the grocery store the other day. Gardein products are made with soy, wheat, grains and veggies. I was surprised with how good they were and how similar they were to the taste of meat.

I tried the beef tips first sauteed in veggie broth for about 5 minutes. I ate them on top of a mixture of brown rice, black beans and frozen veggies. The meal was ready in under 8 minutes and was surprisingly delicious!

Not pictured I had some rice cakes and nut butter for a snack along with some grapes around 4pm.

For dinner I enjoyed an all green dinner – kale chips, cucumber salad, grilled asparagus and Szechuan green beans.

Sesame-miso cucumber salad (recipe found Alyssa at Fashion Fitness Foodie)

Ingredients

  • 4 cups of thinly sliced seeded cucumber
  • 2 teaspoons dark sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1 tablespoon hot water
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • Optional: 1 1/2 sesame seeds, toasted and 2 tablespoons white miso (I didn’t have these ingredients so I omitted them but the salad still turned out fabulous!)

Directions

1. Combine ingredients (except cucumber) in a bowl, stirring with a wisk.

2. Seed cucumbers by cutting in half and taking a spoon to the middle and scooping out the seeds. Slice cucumbers and add to mixture. Toss to coat.

18 responses to “What I ate Wednesday (recipe for miso cucumber salad)

  1. I lovee miso I need to get some asap and try the cucumber salad! Happy WIAW 🙂

  2. I kind of love that you made a miso salad without miso. 🙂 I have been wanting to make my own miso soup for a LONG time, because I can’t imagine that it would be that hard, but for some reason I just can’t bring myself to spend so much on miso. I think I need to go to an Asian supermarket where it doesn’t cost the $8.95 it does at Whole Foods!

  3. I’m very intrigued by those Gardein meatless items. I like meat, but I try not to eat it, so I like to use meatless meat-like products sometimes.

    • Yeah, I am trying desperately to hang onto this plant-based diet and I was just dying for something meat-like and this totally hit the spot. It had the taste and texture of real meat. I wasn’t 100% convinced by the ingredients, there were a few things I didn’t know how to pronounce if you know what I mean but I’d say this is something I would be interested in eating on occasion.

  4. Jenn at peas and crayons

    Yay!!!!!!!!!! I was sooooo curious! 🙂 your breakfask looks like such a fun mix of textures and flavors! and your dinner is gorgeous! Thanks.for playing along beautiful! Mwah!

  5. I love the Gardein stuff. They’re a great quick addition to any meals I make that need protein. I have to admit I’m really scared of miso because I cooked with it once, and it made everything so salty.

  6. I haven’t tried the Gardein products, but I’m glad you reviewed them – I’ve wondered about them before. Thanks for the advice! 🙂

  7. i love ur cucumber salad!!! i honestly havent had cucumber in WAY too long!

  8. I have always wanted to try those Gardein products – good to know they are delicious! It helps to have items on hand when you are looking for something easy!

  9. I’ve never tried Miso, but that salad looks great! I love cucumbers, they’re so refreshing and delicious in the warm weather!

  10. I’m really intrigued by those beefless tips, that dish looks delicious. A meal done in 8 minutes is win to me

  11. I’m really curious to try those Gardein products, but they are so freaking expensive! I’m on the hunt for a coupon 🙂

  12. Those garden products look good 🙂 And so does all that greenness in your dinner! I just love Kale Chips!

  13. You got in so many greens at dinnertime!! This was my first week of WIAW! Woot! 🙂

  14. Oh, how I love WIAW!! You dinner looks soo good! I LOVE grilled asparagus so much! And the cucumber salad- sounds soo delicious!
    Thank you for commenting on my blog, Ill make sure Ill visit you again 🙂 Cant get to many vegan blogs;)

Leave a Reply

