Vegan Apple Pie

In experimenting with ways to cook on a plant-based diet I came up with this recipe for apple pie using a mixture of raw and vegan cooking techniques. The result was a delicious, healthy treat that is filling and guilt-free!

Ingredients

Pie crust

  • 1/2 cups of raw almonds (or cashews)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 cup of pitted dates (I could only find prunes – same diff)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Apple filling

  • 7 small fuji apples
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1/8 teaspoon of lemon zest
  • 1 cups of dates (or prunes)
  • Optional – 1 teaspoon of coconut oil

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Chop apples into small pieces. Place in a pan (I put foil over it for easy clean up). Sprinkle cinnamon on top and bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes then reduce the heat to 325 degrees and bake for another 45 minutes.

2. Process the almonds in a food processor until you get a coarse flour. Add cinnamon and dates until a think dough-like substance is formed. (you can add agave nectar if it needs it)

3. Press almond mixture into a pie pan and set aside.

4. Once the apples are done, let cool then place in processor. Add remaining ingredients for the apple filling (dates, lemon juice and lemon zest). Process thoroughly then pour into pie pan on top of almond crust.

5. Refrigerate for about an hour, then serve.

Running late for work, I will post an update on the plant-based diet along with pics from our first cooking class tomorrow – sorry 😦

17 responses to “Vegan Apple Pie

  1. I was scrolling through Twitter and saw “Vegan Apple Pie” and clicked on right away – haha. I’m always thinking about dessert!! I would love to see what this looks like sliced if you get a chance to photograph a piece before it is all gone. πŸ™‚ It sounds great!!

  2. shiningfromwithin

    omg. I love you!!! This looks amazing! Anything apple pie I’m down for. yummmmmm

  3. Yum!! Looks and sounds so delicious!

  4. the raw almond idea is absolutely brilliant!

  5. I love the idea for the crust!! it all looks amazing!

  6. Good Lord is all I have to say.

  7. This looks amazing Jessica! I can’t wait to try it… I think I will make it this Sunday! I will let you know how it turns out πŸ™‚

  8. What a beautiful pie! I love date and nut based crusts! πŸ™‚

  9. I love this recipe! I’ve made a date/nut crust before- so good!

  10. Clever crust idea. I can’t even remember the last time I had an apple pie 😦

  11. ooh yum this looks to die for amazing I love that its vegan too!

  12. This looks delicious. Going to have to try it out.

    Great step-by-step photos as well. Nice job.

Leave a comment