Chicago Restaurant Review Round-up

G.T Fish and Oyster

Friends, drop your forks, and run to G.T Fish and Oyster. If you are in search of good seafood in the city, look no further. I met my friend and local natural foods chef and wellness consultant Amanda Skrip here to celebrate her appearance on NBC 5. I was a little weary of the menu so I left the ordering up to the pro Amanda. The waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable (which is a breathe of fresh air these days….) The menu is split by cold and hot dishes with an extra section for oysters, if you’re into that kind of thing. Here is the rundown of our meal….

Tuna Poke with mango, cucumber and black sesame (cold)

BBQ EEL wasabi, potato and octopus salad (cold)

Oyster sliders with kimchi and peanuts (hot)

Fish Tacos with chipotle aioli, chicharrón, and garlic (hot)

I was impressed with every single dish. It can get a bit of a pricey but you will not be dissatisfied with the food, service or ambiance, that is for sure. This is a great place to try new things so take the servers suggestions and go for something outside of your box.

Big Star

Garage turned bar mixed with a Mexican fiesta – this place does not lack character. It’s a great joint in the summer with all of the added outdoor seating but this place attracts its patrons because they serve damn good tacos. Expect loud music, beer out of the bottle, tattooed wait staff and a taco feast! Be warned, if you don’t tolerate spice well, even the salsa was eye-watering. They offer $3 whiskey shots, a different kind everyday of the week (if you’re into that sort of thing) and everything else is priced right as well. Here is a peek at what Corey and I ordered….

Corey had the Tacos De Panza crispy - braised pork belly, tomato guajillo sauce, queso fresco, onion, and cilantro

I had one Tostada De Calabaza, which is roasted squash, fresh apples, red onion, cilantro, lime, and crema.

I had one Tacos De Pescado which is beer battered tilapia, chipotle mayo, cabbage, cilantro, and lime

And I had one Tostada De Pollo wood grilled chicken thigh, pipián rojo, onion rings, pumpkin seed, and crema.

Karyn’s on Green

I have been here three times…..in a month. I have only eaten out four times this month and the fourth was a fluke, so I guess you could say that I LOOOOOVE this place! It’s the first all vegan/vegetarian restaurant I’ve been to in Chicago and I’m afraid it set the bar to high now for future vegan restaurant adventures. Even if you are not vegan, the food has so much flavor, you wouldn’t even know it was vegan if I hadn’t just told you. The service can be a bit spotty at times but it’s generally not an issue. They offer a great drink list with fancy specialty cocktails that are sweetened with agave nectar rather than sugar and organic beer. It’s nestled in the near west loop and is typically pretty easy to find a parking spot. I have ordered nearly the whole menu by now but only remembered my camera once. So the first time I went my girlfriend Tory and I ordered….

Tory had the portobello burger (brunch menu)

I had the buffalo "chicken" wrap

2 responses to “Chicago Restaurant Review Round-up

  1. ooh all of those restaurants look amazing but id definitely have to go for the portabella burger yum!

  2. Rach @ This Italian Family

    Oh gracious so much delicious food in this post, haha!

Leave a comment