Bourbon-Glazed Salmon

May I bother you with a rant for just a moment?

Smokers. I’m sorry if you are one, but seriously. No, retract that statement, I’m NOT sorry! If you are reading this blog you should know better than to suck those cancer sticks. Ok, riddle-me-this, why on EARTH do people think it is OK to smoke on their walk to work (holding a coffee in the other hand no less) when other people have to walk behind them and suck in their dirty air? I can just HEAR the smokers now saying “yeah but we’re outside…” My answer: “I DON’T CARE! Pull yourself to the side of the sidewalk and smoke that disgusting blunt of tar so the rest of us don’t have to smoke it with you!!!” Am I being unreasonable here? Oh and then, the kicker, THEY THROW THE BUTT ON THE GROUND? Uhh, hi, ya, sir? The ground is not your ashtray! Ugh, why are people smoking now anyways? You know it all the facts, no girl/guy ever wants to kiss you, you smell like crap, you have a can tied to your *ahem*, oh and uh, IT KILLS YOU!

I digress. On a healthy note, salmon is great for you! And this is (dare I say) the best salmon I’ve made yet. It is on the sweeter side, it is super easy to make and goes with so many different things.

Bourbon-Glazed Salmon – Adapted from Cooking Light

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons bourbon
  • 2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 (6-ounce) skinless salmon fillets
  • Cooking spray
  • Optional: 1/4 cup thinly sliced green onions and 1 tablespoon sesame seeds for garnish

Directions:

1. Combine first 7 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add fish to bag; seal. Marinate in refrigerator 1 1/2 hours, turning occasionally.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add fish and marinade to pan; cook fish 4 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until done to your desire. Place 1 fillet on each of 4 plates; drizzle each serving with about 2 teaspoons sauce.

I served mine over a salad of spinach tossed with balsamic vinaigrette and some of my leftover cauliflower soup for garnish.

Random photo of the day comes from Dishin’ About Nutrition reader Bob. He is on a business trip in Miami (one of my favorite places of all time) and he snapped these shots of the sunrise and a monster bouquet of roses at the Ritz Carlton….

They certainly don't skimp at the Ritz....

Send me your pics for the random photo of the day! I’d love to post them and link back to your blog or just share some reader love!! 🙂 (send to dishnutrish @ gmail.com)

2 responses to “Bourbon-Glazed Salmon

  1. I feel the same way about smokers. Its so annoying and disgusting to get stuck behind one on the sidewalk. I take the subway to work and I have to walk past a line of smokers twice a day. I wish they would make smoking on public property illegal. It was illegal on my University campus and I thought that was an amazing idea.

  2. Oh my goodness, I get SO mad every time I see someone toss a cigarette butt out the window of their car. I have seriously considered calling in license plates before (for littering). Oh goodness… so dumb!

Leave a Reply

