Chicago Blogger Meet-up with Amanda Skrip

Last night was the much anticipated (for me at least) Health food Chicago Blogger Meet-up at Whole Foods (Halsted and Waveland location) with natural foods chef Amanda Skrip. It was so fun to get to meet local bloggers, some of which I have followed since before I was blogging (I’m talking about you Chelsey!) and some newbie bloggers, Katie, Caitย and Tracy! Amanda also had help from an equally as talented assistant Alia! Due to crazy Chicago traffic some bloggers weren’t able to come but I hope to do it again sometime so if you are a local blogger and you weren’t able to come this time around, let me know and I will add you to the list for the next meet-up ๐Ÿ™‚

So we started out the evening with snacks and a much needed glass of wine…

After introductions and bloggy gossip (which truthfully could have gone on all night!) we sat down to watch Amanda whip up some unbelievable grub! All of the recipes were gluten free and vegan – love it! We started out with some Sweet Potato Ginger Soup which was awesome and sooooo easy to make. Amanda explained how this is a great way to use up left over cooked sweet potatoes from a previous meal, which, as many of you know, I HATE wasting food, so this is a perfect recipe to have handy (not to mention I always have sweet pots on hand for those nights that I am out of creative ideas).

While we sipped on the soup Amanda was busy making a Brown Rice ‘risotto’ style dish with white beans, kale and maitake mushrooms. I couldn’t believe how creamy it was and yet there was no cream in it! Amanda described it as the perfect comfort food and I couldn’t agree more. Comfort food without all the ‘baggage’!

One of the reasons I love going to Amanda’s classes is because she is so knowledgeable about food, the health benefits, how to make healthy substitutes and so much more. If I wasn’t eating, drinking wine or asking her a million questions (yeah, I was that girl…) I was watching her cook so effortlessly and trying to soak in all of her knowledge. While I could go on and on about how talented she is, I’ll spare you and just share with you the next dish ๐Ÿ™‚ Spaghetti squash salad with arugula, olives and almonds – perfect for fall!

And for dessert we were treated to Baked Pears in a Pecan Crumble, perfect fall dessert recipe! Amanda suggested that this recipe works great for other fruit too like apples, peaches, etc.

Just when you think it can’t get any better, Amanda pulls the Sesame brittle out of the oven. I’ll be honest, I was skeptical about this one, it looked like a bland pile of seeds but when I tasted it I think Chelsey and I almost simultaneously fell off our chairs! This was hands down the group favorite and Amanda says her clients request it all the time. This makes a great snack or treat with the perfect mixture of salty and sweet.

And I certainly can’t rave about it without giving you the recipe, so here you have it! If you do make it please be sure to link back to Amanda’s website and give her some kudos for a fantastic dish (www.amandaskrip.com). She also mentioned this makes a great gift for the holidays, which is something I definitely plan on doing.

Sesame Brittle

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup of sesame seeds
  • 3/4 cup of sunflower seeds, raw
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds, raw
  • 2 sheets of nori
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 325. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.
ย 
2. Heat a large skillet over a medium flame. Add the sesame, sunflower, and pumpkin seeds, and stir frequently with a wooden spoon until toasted, about 3-5 minutes.

3. Transfer content to a large bowl. Using scissors or kitchen shears, cut the nori into small, thin pieces and add to the seeds. Pour maple syrup into bowl, and stir to coat evenly.

4. Pour seeds onto baking sheet, and use a spatula to spread it into an even layer. Transfer to oven for 10-12 minutes.

5. Remove from oven and let cool 30-40 minutes. Break the now hardened brittle into medium size pieces. And enjoy!

12 responses to “Chicago Blogger Meet-up with Amanda Skrip

  1. awww sounds like fun! and that sesame brittle looks delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi! I am new to blogger community, and Chicago as well and would love to meet up next time.

    Thanks!
    Annie

  3. i want the spaghetti squash recipe : )

  4. I wanted to come to this so bad and then work got crazy and I totally forgot about it until I was going through my email this morning ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Looks like you girls had so much fun, I would love to come next time you have an event ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. i loved reading about your blogger meet-up! Each of you girls’ blogs had a different take and cute pictures ๐Ÿ™‚ The sesame brittle sounds amazing! How would think to use Nori in a sweet brittle? fabulous! I’m trying that this weekend! Thanks for sharing the highlights girl!

  6. So much fun reading all of your re-caps! I’m a newbie Chicago blogger and would LOVE to join in on the fun next time around :). BTW, you and your blog rocks!!

  7. thanks for the recap jessi! hope to see you soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. that class looks so awesome I want every single one of those recipes !

  9. This looks like it was an awesome event. Let me know if you are involved in something like this again as I’d love to attend.

  10. Looks like so much fun! I will be there next time I am DYING to meet you girls!

  11. That looks so fun! (and delicious)

Leave a comment