Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

Ahhh, fall. It’s bittersweet for me. While I am devastated that summer is over I love curling up by a toasty fire, sipping warm drinks and enjoying fall’s finest foods, pumpkin, apples, and squash! I have made variations of stuffed acorn squash before but his one was hands down my favorite. The flavors just mixed so well. So here ya have it!

Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash 

Ingredients

  • 1 medium acorn squash, halved and seeded (puncture interior with fork or knife)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon butter (or other margarine), melted
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped (I used Grimmway Farms, cuz I looooove them!)
  • 1 can beans, rinsed and drained (I used kidney but you can use any kind)
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 vegetable bouillon cube
  • Ground cumin to taste (I used about four or five shakes)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Stock (use veggie for full vegan meal, I only had chicken, sad day…)
  • Optional: shredded cheddar cheese (or vegan option)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400° F. Arrange squash halves cut side up on a baking sheet. Once you have punctured the interior, add a small tab of butter and a sprinkle of brown sugar to the cavity . Bake for 1 hour or until soft. Check with a fork or knife to make sure it is soft before taking it out.

2. While the squash is baking, cook quinoa according to directions on package. Add the bouillon to water and quinoa during first step. Once the quinoa is cooked, season with cumin, salt and pepper. (Note: I also cook mine in broth instead of water for added flavor but that is optional.)

3. Heat broth (you can also use olive oil if you so choose) in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in the garlic, celery, and carrots, and cook about 5-10 minutes. Mix in the beans and raisins and continue to cook and stir on low heat until vegetables are tender.

4. Combine veggies and bean mixture with quinoa and keep on low heat until your squash is ready.

5. Stuff each squash halve with quinoa veggie mixture, and sprinkle with one teaspoon cheddar cheese, if using. Cook another five minutes or until the cheese is melted.

What are some of your favorite fall foods?

What is your favorite season?

9 responses to “Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. I actually have cooked squash and quinoa in my fridge maybe ill make this for lunch!

  2. I love that this recipe is loaded with lean protein. I’ll have to try doing something like this with butternut squash.

  3. yummy! now i know what to do with the acorn squash i buy 🙂 and my favorite fall food is definitely pumpkin!

  4. Oh wow … this looks amazing! I’m going to buy a squash today just so I can make this =)

  5. Mmmmmm. I just had something simular for lunch! Yay squash season!

    Whitney

  6. I JUST made acorn squash the other day. I LOVE acorn squash. And pumpkin is a fall must have!!! LOVE the whole squash/pumpkin family 🙂

    I love all of the seasons. I like a mild fall and spring, and I like the extremes when it comes to summer and winter – either super warm, sunny, and beach-y, or pretty darn chilly and LOADS AND LOADS of snow!

  7. Pingback: Amy’s Rustic Fall Chicken with Sage, Acorn Squash, and Beer… | Once in Love with Amy's Food Blog – Love, Live, Eat!

  8. Wow these look amazing! Must try them soon! 🙂 I’ve been SUPER lazy about dinner lately since my husband has been out of town for work, but perhaps I’ll get creative again soon and make these. 😉

  9. Pingback: Cooking with Cordial « Flow Cooking

Leave a Reply

