Three-bean Seitan Chili

As many of you know, a few month ago I participated in the Whole Foods plant-based diet challenge. I loved the way I felt, the energy I had and the weight I lost but since Corey wasn’t really on board for it, we slowly went back to eating a lot of animal products. I missed the screening of the documentary Forks Over Knives when they showed it for our challenge but had since heard so many great things about that when it popped up on Netflix I was excited to get a second chance and begged Corey to watch it with me (he politely obliged). I don’t want to spoil it but I’ll just tell you it was so compelling Corey looked at me and said “I want to start having most of our meals be vegan from now on.” HOLY CHEESE BEANS AND RICE!!! I wish we had watched it sooner. Not only is the information unbelievably compelling, it is a well done documentary. It is not biased, just simply showing results from studies done on the American diet, and it is appalling. Please watch it if you can, I guarantee you will change the way you eat.

(Source)

In other news, it was my b-day last week! People are so nice on your b-day, it’s quite refreshing. I capitalized on the day as much as I could, stretching it out over two weeks. Corey did not disappoint either. He sent these gorgeous flowers to my office….

And we went out to one of our fave restaurants, Province, with some of our friends – sorry no pic, we were busy eating 🙂 Annnnnd he got me this delicious cake…

…although there was some kind of misunderstanding that my name ‘Jessica’ was to be shorted to ‘Jess’ and the cake decorator heard ‘Jeff’. So I got a ‘Happy B-day Jeff’ cake! haha Corey was not happy but it made for a great story. We finished off the festivities with a Sox game, front row right behind home plate – I must confess though, I’m not really a baseball fan but I am a fan of free food and drinks 🙂

So in keeping with our new plant-based lifestyle, I decided to try a classic three-bean chili with a little vegan twist by adding some ground seitan. I had the opportunity to try some of Grimmway Farms fresh carrots and I knew this would be the perfect recipe for them! Fresh ingredients really do go a long way and these did not disappoint.

Ingredients:

  •  1 can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  •  1/2 can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 8 oz. package of vegan seitan finely diced (I used Upton’s Naturals, so far my favorite brand of seitan and the closest texture to meat. Obviously you can substitute meat for this or leave it out all together)
  •  1 15 oz. can tomato sauce and 2 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, diced
  • 4 medium sized carrots, diced (I used Grimmway Farms carrots which were delish!)
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure maple syrup
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

1. Lightly brown the seitan in a separate pan.

2. Saute bell peppers and carrots for about 10 minutes then add the onions and continue cooking until the onions become a translucent gold color.

3. Add garlic and jalapenos and cook 1-2 minutes.

4. Combine lightly browned seitan and remaining ingredients into pot.  Cover and simmer for at least 30 minutes.


18 responses to “Three-bean Seitan Chili

  1. yum I love bean chili im definitely bookmarking this !!

  2. That documentary was so powerful. I’ve decided to try and incorporate many more vegan meals into my diet.

  3. This chili recipe looks great. I love that it has three different types of beans, and I would have never thought to add seitan to chili.

    I’ve never heard of that documentary before, but I will definitely have to check it out as it sounds very intriguing.

  4. yummm! i love seitan and chili but i never thought to combine the two. great recipe!

  5. I so want to see that documentary. I already eat about 90% Vegan, but I wish I had it in me to say goodbye to everything. It’s hard! I love my greek yogurt, salmon, and goat cheese. I want my hubby to see it, too because he is the hard one to convert. 🙂
    We just had chili yesterday and I love it! I’ll def look for that brand of seitan. Did you find it at whole foods?
    Love the birthday cake. And seriously – I hope you had a great birthday, Jeff. 😉

  6. This looks amazing- I love chilli!

  7. That looks delicious! and I’ll have to check out that movie when I get some time!

  8. I still haven’t seen that movie, but I think it’s available on Netflix. I’ll have to check it out!

  9. I REALLY want to see that movie!! I’ll have to look for it =)

  10. I think it’s hilarious that the cake says Jeff.. it looks kind of like Jess… and I’m sure it would taste equally delicious if it said Jess 🙂 also.. that chili looks yummmmy!

  11. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    I have really been wanting to try seitan lately and now I have the perfect recipe to do it!! Thanks girl!!

  12. Rach @ This Italian Family

    Looks yummy! 🙂

  13. I loved Forks over Knives! Very powerful film and so well done. I’ve bought the DVD and have been loaning it out to friends and family to help spread the word about the benefits of a plant based diet 🙂 You’re lucky your man is on board with you!!!

  14. Pingback: Healthy (Family Friendly) Dinner Recipes Part 2 | Healthful Sense

  15. Pingback: Chili Bean Mushroom Medley | Recipes from Boatyard House

Leave a comment