Homemade Tomato Basil Soup

In my effort to cut down on my grocery bills I have put together a ton of recipes I want to try that won’t cost much. I bought a few cans of soup to bring to work (out of pure desperation) and they just fell short. I wasn’t satisfied with either the taste or the nutrients and I was hungry just a few hours later. I wondered if making it homemade would make a difference. I found this recipe on From Cupcakes to Caviar and slightly adapted it.

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1/2 cup minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 2 28 ounce cans crushed tomatoes
  • 3 cups lo sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup minced fresh basil
  • NuStevia (or 1/3 cup of sugar)
  • 2 teaspoons fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

  1. In a large pot over medium heat, saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil for about 3 to 4 minutes until softened.
  2. Add the crushed tomatoes and chicken broth and bring mixture to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes. Turn heat off and let cool for up to an hour.
  3. Pour half the mixture in a blender (hold lid down with a towel if the soup is at all hot so the lid doesn’t fly off). Blend on high speed for about a minute and pour into a large bowl. Do the same with the second half (I actually don’t do that because I like a little bit of texture in the soup). Add all the soup back to the pot and add the remaining ingredients. Bring the soup back up to a low bubble then reduce heat and let simmer for 20 minutes. Garnish with desired toppings.

8 responses to “Homemade Tomato Basil Soup

  1. This looks really great. Perhaps my blog may be of use if you’re trying to cut down on food bills :D. I don’t really believe in over-spending on food, as you can make amazing food, like this soup, for such a small amount of money!

  2. I love tomato basil soup! My sister makes it on Thanksgiving sometimes for us vegetarians 🙂

  3. I looove tomato basil soup! Especially now that it’s starting to get cool out 🙂 I always throw a couple croutons on top for a little crunch.

  4. I’ve never made my own soup! I usually buy a base and just add veggies and stuff to it! Since it’s supposed to start getting chilly here in Chicago next week, I’ll have to give it a try!

  5. Rach @ This Italian Family

    Oooh I love tomato basil soup! I need to try my hand at making it sometime!

  6. Tomato and basil soup is an old classic and I love it! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Product Reviews and Giveaway | Dishin' About Nutrition

  8. Yummy – I’m getting really excited for cold-weather foods… but not so much the cold weather part

Leave a comment