Cleaning out the fridge recipes

Sorry for the bloggy-hiatus, I went to Michigan for the 4th of July with Corey’s family, a tradition of theirs for 14+ years. This was only my second year going but it felt just as much tradition for me. It basically consists of boating, playing games, drinking, eating and laughing…a lot! Unfortunately because we had to be back to work on Tuesday we didn’t stay the whole week (as they normally do) and I didn’t take a single pic, not even of the food!! You’ll just have to believe me it was a lot of fun and a lot of good eats, I promise I will be better about it next year.

I did manage to take a snap shot of out dinner the night before we left which is always a tricky meal considering you want to cook the food you have leftover so it doesn’t go bad but you haven’t been to the store in days in preparation for leaving. So I thought it fitting to call this post “cleaning out the fridge recipes” for those of you who need some easy go-to recipes to use up food before it goes bad.

Simple butternut squash

  • 1 butternut squash; peeled and cut
  • Butter
  • Brown sugar
  • S&P
Directions: Spray a pan with non-stick cooking spray, lay cut pieces of squash in pan, dollop some butter, sprinkle brown sugar and S&P and bake for 25 mins at 400 degrees.
We had ours with some grilled veggies (sweet potato, yellow squash, and red pepper) and a small salad, using up all of our produce! When in doubt, throw it on the grill. It is so easy, still yummy and all you need is some oil and spices/garlic. I always have some brown rice or quinoa on hand for these kind of occasions which makes the meal a little more filling and complete. Doing some sort of bean dish is another great option when you have minimal options to work with.
 
In other news
We decided to go see the new Transformers last night, which I have been dying to see! Last summer when I first moved to Chicago they were filming it just a few blocks from out apartment. I expected to recognize the buildings but I didn’t expect my office building to be in 90% of the movie! The two buildings that played a major role in the movie are the two buildings I see when I look out my office window! (I apologize in advance for my dorkiness – I love this city!)

Trump Tower Chicago



11 responses to “Cleaning out the fridge recipes

  1. What lovely office window views! I love Chicago! Good thing I don’t live far away from it at all.

    My husband and I stayed at the Palmer House Hilton last August to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and they were filming Transformers that weekend. We saw trucks, crew, and walked through one of the scenes (not as they were filming, but still neat to see). Pretty cool!

    We also saw Public Enemies being filmed about three years ago. That was so neat too!

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Thats so cool that you work right near all those buildings! You’re famous!! Well at least your city is LOL!

  3. I’ve always wanted to visit Chicago! And the butternut squash looks so great 🙂

  4. shiningfromwithin

    As simple as that meal is, it looks really good!

    That is so cool they filmed there… pretty sure I would have stalked them to see all the action going on LOL.

  5. That’s awesome that you get to see the landmark of a film–and I have to admit however, that I’ve never seen Transformers! Shame on me hehe 😛

  6. Rach @ This Italian Family

    That’s so cool that your building was in the movie so much! I still haven’t seen it, but we are hoping to see it soon! Glad you had a great weekend, girl!

  7. Peter is going to see that movie this afternoon. It’s not my style movie so I’m glad he is going with work buddies. Although i would love to see Chicago images. I want to go there so bad!

  8. I would die if I had that view out of an office! I’m going to Chicago in October and I can’t wait. It looks like such a beautiful city!

  9. That’s so cool! I saw it the other night and loved it! It was so action packed!

  10. what a pretty view, I love butternut squash its been forever since ive had it!!!

  11. Yay, Michigan! What part did you go to?

Leave a comment