Tempeh avocado sandwhich

So I have been pining for a sandwich since I turned somewhat vegan but wasn’t sure how to make one without using my go-to turkey. The solution came to me when I was simultaneously wondering how I could use the remainder of the tempeh I bought a few weeks ago. Eureka! A tempeh sandwich! I used veganaise (a vegan version of mayo – duh), tomatoes, lettuce, avocado, red onion, whole wheat thin buns and tempeh (obvi). I kid you not, it was phenom! The tempeh was bacon flavored so it was like a supped-up vegan version of the BLT! I washed it down with some lentil chips and was full until dinner – that never happens! For those of you who don’t know, tempeh is a meat substitute that is made from fermented soy beans. It is high in protein, cholesterol-free and tastes way better than tofu in my opinion. If you are a texture person though you may not like it; it is rather grainy but I thought it was fab! I will definitely be making this bad boy again 🙂

Have you ever tried tempeh? If so, how did you use it?

7 responses to “Tempeh avocado sandwhich

  1. This sandwich looks unbelievably good! Definitely cannot go wrong with avocado and tempeh.
    I like to use tempeh in my stir fries. It holds up better than does tofu, and it adds a deeper flavor to the mix.

  2. Looooove tempeh and I often buy the bacon flavored kind. I just had it today for lunch 🙂 It’s the BEST if you pan fry it until it’s crispy and brown, just like bacon. So good!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Tempeh is delicious! It has such a unique flavor and texture! I love making sandwiches with it! Especially with jam and cheese….but I’ll have to try the “TLT” you made with it!

  4. I’ve never tried tempeh but have always been curious. I eat roasted soybeans like its my job throughout the day and think I get more than my fair share of soy 🙂

  5. I used to eat a lot of tempeh but that was about ten years ago and I haven’t had it since. I need some of that bacon flavored tempeh!!!

    How is veganaise? I’m too scared to try it.

Leave a Reply

