Celebrate “Spring” with me next weekend at Green Festival!

Well, I thought it was finally safe to come out from hibernation, but that just goes to show this new Chicagoan how very wrong I was to assume that mid-May should be above 50 degrees. It was nice yesterday, the sun was shining, I thought Spring had finally made it’s way to Chicago….until I stepped outside today. HOLY BURR!

Disappointing as it was, I think it is safe to assume the worst is over. I am proud to announce I have survived my first winter in Chi-town. Now some may not consider that much of feat for a girl who was born and raised in Minnesota, but let me just tell you, that wind makes a huge difference! Schizophrenic as the weather is here I did notice that the trees are budding and flowers are opening up on my walk to work this morning.

And my apartment building has replaced the winter shrubs with colorful flowers.

I needed to stretch my legs so I took a stroll through Millennium Park during my lunch hour, which is in my opinion the best part of working and living in the city. I’m really looking forward to this summer when I can sit on the Great Lawn and watch the orchestra practice.

Every Spring the city of Chicago is littered with gorgeous tulips, the Park especially.

I couldn’t believe it when I saw these guys in short sleeves rowing down the Chicago River!

Hopefully the weather will be nicer next weekend for the Green Festival, the nation’s largest green consumer living event. This two day eco-extravaganza features over 300 environmentally-friendly vendors, educational workshops, live music, local vegetarian cuisine, and organic wine and beer. I’m hoping to get some good ideas on how I can improve my ecological footprint and of course, I want to eat some great food!! I am definitely going to check out the organic cooking demonstrations. Corey and our friends Heather and Josh are coming too so stay tuned for pics from the event! Let me know if you are going to be there! I will be attending on Sunday.

Here are the details:

  • Where – McCormick Place (2301 S. Lakeshore Dr.)
  • When – May 14th 10am – 7pm and the 15th from 11am – 6pm
  • Check out all the details and schedule of events at www.greenfestivals.com

13 responses to “Celebrate “Spring” with me next weekend at Green Festival!

  1. I also live in a city with very schizophrenic weather – I think I don’t know any other place where it’s not unusual when it rains in bright sunlight. And 10 or 15 degree temperature shifts overnight are everyday business here. 🙂

    Love the tulips! I hope you’ll get spring feeling even more soon!

  2. Love the Chicago pictures! I was supposed to go to Green Fest a few years ago and have wanted to go ever since – I’m sure it will be amazing! 🙂

  3. We live out in the NW suburbs and I was raised downstate in IL but even I think Chicago winters are worse! Congrats on surviving! Thanks for the info about the festival. We just may head down there!

  4. Wow those pictures of beautiful! I’ve never been to Chicago but would love to go, of course! The Green Festival sounds amazing, can’t wait to see recap pictures!

  5. The winter is a b*tch, eh? Glad you made it through! I thought this one was never going to end! Thanks for the heads up about the Green Festival chica!

  6. gahhh I know how you feel, I left the gorgeous and 70 degree kentucky weather and came home to ohio where its barely 50 in may ? miserable, good thing I leave for Mexico friday 🙂 Also those brownies are definitely on my must make list, havent tried arbonne products yet but they sound amazing!

  7. Ah, Chicago how I love thee, even though 40s/50s in May are killing me! Haha, wow I rhymed!! Sounds like a cool event. I wish I could make it, but it’s my friend’s birthday this weekend!

  8. I can’t even imagine surviving a winter there! I’ve also heard it can get really hot in the fall- I’m going for the marathon in October and I’m scared I’ll die of the heat!

Leave a comment