Sweet Potato Hash

Happy Thursday everyone! I can’t believe it’s almost the weekend, again! Time flies, I swear I can’t believe summer is already over! To cure my depression of the fact that the sun will soon leave us for another ungodly harsh winter, I am focusing my energy to making some awesome fall foods. I love fall produce, pumpkin, squash, sweet potatoes, I love it all! I decided to try this recipe that I found somewhere on the internet because it uses ingredients that I have on hand almost all of the time. This makes a great side that doesn’t require a ton of ingredients, is healthy and super easy to make while preparing a main dish. Pair with a salad and tah-dah, dinna is served!

Sweet Potato Hash

Ingredients

  • 1 large sweet potato, wash and dice into small cubes (1/4” square)
  • 2 tbsp broth (original recipe called for olive oil or coconut oil
 but since I’m cutting back on that I substituted broth and it worked like a charm – maybe even tasted better!)
  • 2 cups sweet onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper, coarsely chopped
  • 1 whole fresh jalapeño pepper, minced (remove seeds for less heat – got this fresh from the “garden” I’m going to miss that this winter)
  • 2 cloves of roasted garlic
  • S&P to taste (about a 1/4 teaspoon)
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Cilantro for garnish – optional

Directions

1. Bring large pot of water to a boil and add diced sweet potato. Boil about 10 minutes or until cubes are cooked through. Meanwhile sauté peppers in broth (or oil) for about 5-8 minutes on medium heat; than add onions. Once potatoes are cooked through, drain the water and set aside to dry. Cook peppers and onions until onions become translucent. (Note: If using broth, continue adding once it gets absorbed so you don’t burn the veggies.)

3. Add the potato cubes to the skillet with the onions and peppers. Add roasted garlic, salt, pepper, and seasoning. Continue cooking until the sweet potato, onion, and peppers have browned.

8 responses to “Sweet Potato Hash

  1. I love a good sweet potato hash. Not only are sweet potatoes great for you, but they cook faster than do potatoes. I like how simple and straightforward this recipe is.

  2. oh my goodness i love sweet potatoes! i will definitely be trying this recipe 🙂

  3. shiningfromwithin

    mmmm… i love hashes! they warm you right up in the fall 🙂

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Thsi looks so good! I am always looking for new ways to eat sweet taters!!

  5. Yummm this look so tasty! And healthy too 🙂 Thank you for this recipe

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin with sweet potato and tomato soup « Community Care ::: Affordable Therapy Collect

  7. This was awesome!! great winter meal…..i love how versatile sweet potatoes are!

  8. Pingback: she did the hash… « la cocina de karina

Leave a comment