Homemade protein bars

I am not much of a protein bar kinda girl. I think a lot of them are chalk-full of sugar, carbs and unhealthy additives, however, Larabars are not like that, and I instantly fell in love when I first tried them. In my new effort to cut grocery costs I thought it would be clever of me to make my own bars rather than buy them. I feel a little stupid now because making these at home was SO easy! Let me just tell you, if you see any recipe on this blog, it is guaranteed to be easy, I don’t do hard recipes, I’m not that good. So if anything looks complicated, rest assured, it’s not. Anywho, back to the bars, you can add in anything you want really – nuts, chocolate chips, dried fruit, etc. Here is one flavor I tried, I will definitely be experimenting with this little project and posting more so stay tuned!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of dates
  • 1/4 cup of raw almonds (un-salted; you can also use cashews, peanuts, etc.)
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1 scoop of vanilla whey protein

Directions:

Combine all ingredients (except the oats) into food processor and process for about 2 minutes. Add the oats then pulse until fully combined and a dough forms. Form dough into bars and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate over night and you will have a tasty treat waiting for you in the a.m!

9 responses to “Homemade protein bars

  1. love these!!

  2. Love this recipe! I have made a similar version before…makes for a great snack!!

  3. I’m going to make these tonight! How big do you make the bars??

  4. so smart! I love larabars and always have to treat myself to them because they’re a little pricey. If I can make them at home for cheaper, I’m definitely doing it!

  5. Those look great!! I love larabars too! At first I was nervous, because I had never tried dates before…but I feel madly deeply in love 🙂

  6. What a great recipe! Thanks! I love making my own raw bars, but I find that I get stuck in ruts with using the same ingredients so this is an AWESOME variation of try! 😀

  7. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your bars and am trying your scallop recipe tonight!

Leave a comment