Caprese Salad 3 ways

I love caprese salad and lately I have been playing around with it. I decided to plant some basil on our deck this year and it has been so fun! We use it all the time and it grows like crazy, we can’t eat it fast enough! Lord knows how much we have saved since buying fresh basil at the store can be quite expensive. Here are three ways to make it.

Traditional Caprese salad

  • Mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • Fresh tomatoes, sliced
  • Fresh basil
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar

Caprese Kabob

  • Grape tomatoes
  • Mozzarella balls
  • Fresh basil
  • Olive oil and balsamic vinegar for dressing
  • Wooden kabob stick

Grilled Caprese Sandwhich

(Source)

  • Whole wheat bread
  • Mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • Tomatoes, sliced
  • Basil pesto (you can look up many different recipes for this on Google)

7 responses to “Caprese Salad 3 ways

  1. These all look unbelievably good, especially that sandwich. I’ve actually never made a caprese salad, which is weird considering how I much basil, tomatoes and mozzarella. Also, I will happily eat any leftover basil you don’t want 🙂

  2. Oh the joys of reinventing recipes Top Chef-style. I just read in my Food Network Magazine that substituting tarragon for the basil makes for an interesting French twist on the caprese. Perhaps I’ll give that a try as well. 🙂

  3. holy moly that sandwich looks delicious! these three are my absolute favorite summer combo

  4. you had me at grilled caprese sandwich.. YUM

  5. I love caprese kabobs! They are the perfect appetizer.

  6. I’m pretty sure I started legitimately DROOLING while staring at the picture of that caprese sandwich! Holy YUM.

  7. These look absolutely amazing!! YUM! 🙂

Leave a comment