Pumpkin, black bean and poblano tacos

I haven’t been home (to Minnesota) in a while and it feels really good to be here. I got in on Saturday for the Thanksgiving holiday because I saved up my days off so I can have the whole week. So far I’ve been to a Vikings game, dinner with Grandma and rents, I made dinner for rents and tonight I made dinner for my best friend and her boyfriend at my parents house. Great food, good wine and fabulous company. Cathy and I have been friends since high school and we continue to have a great relationship. We don’t talk often (neither of us are really sit-on-the-phone-and-chat kind of people) but when we see each other it’s like no time has passed at all. She is the perfect girlfriend – trusting, honest and genuine. You don’t come across a lot of people in your life like Cathy so when you do, you learn to really appreciate them and I appreciate our friendship more than I can ever put into words. So I was delighted when she and her boyfriend came over for dinner and I could cook for them. I decided to go with the twice baked butternut squash, a beet and goat cheese salad, and one of the recipes from Dawn’s cooking class I took last Thursday, the pumpkin, black bean and poblano tacos.

Ingredients

  • 1 Tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of chopped poblano peppers
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 can of black beans, rinsed & drained
  • S&P to taste
  • Tortillas, warmed
  • Optional – crumbled queso fresco or avocado

Radish slaw ingredients (not optional, must do – it is imperative to the overall flavor of this dish)

  • 1/2 cup shredded fresh radishes
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • Juice from 1/2 lime and add some zest for added flavor

Directions

1. In a skillet over medium heat, saute oil, poblanos, chili powder and cumin for 2 minutes. Add pumpkin, beans, S&P and saute another 3-5 minutes, until heated.

2. Make slaw while mixture is heating. Combine radishes, cilantro and lime juice.

3. Spoon about 1/4 cup of the pumpkin mixture into each warm tortilla and top with radish slaw and optional toppings.

(sorry for the shadow haha!)

2 responses to “Pumpkin, black bean and poblano tacos

  1. This looks like a delicious dish! It is going on my list of recipes to make!

  2. Looks like a winner! Can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

