Balsamic Caramelized Onion and Cherry Tomato Tart

It’s been a rainy miserable week here in Chicago. And if the weather isn’t enough to drag me down we have been having some MAJ-or plumbing issue at home. Let me fill you in.

I may or may not have shoved about two pounds of left over shredded short rib down the garbage disposal and cause the most UNBELIEVABLE clog known to man. So for the past four days we have been to Home Depot 5 times, gone through an entire jug of maximum strength Driano and have gone sink-less for almost a straight week. If all of THAT didn’t get my panties in a bunch, then my dog decides that right as I am heading out the door, already late for work, to step into his poo and jump up on the couch smearing dog crap alllll over the couch. As I go to clean it up, I step in dog vomit, in my socks. I wanted to cry.

Needless to say take-out has been on speed dial all week so I apologize for the lack of recipes. I do have one to share that I made just prior to all of this mess though that I am only now finding the time to post. It was super easy to make and I thought it was delicious, Corey wasn’t sure what to think. I adapted the recipe from Nourising and Flourishing, who always has fantastic, healthy recipes to share.

Balsamic Caramelized Onion and Cherry Tomato Tart

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 1/2 C garbanzo bean (chickpea) flour
  • 1/2 C brown rice flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 C water
  • 2 Tb extra virgin olive oil

Topping

  • 1 small sweet yellow onion
  • 1.5 Tb extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt to taste
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 Tb balsamic vinegar (plus more for drizzling)
  • 1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes

Directions

Crust

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. Add water and mix thoroughly. Add olive oil and mix again until you get a dough.

3. On a parchment-lined baking sheet, using wet hands, press dough into an even circle. Using a fork, pierce the dough to create vents all over. Place in oven and begin working on topping. (You will remove the crust once it turns a light tan on the very edges.)

Tart Topping

1. As crust bakes, slice onion into thin rounds. Heat olive oil (or broth) in a cast-iron skillet over medium heat. Add onions. Sprinkle onions generously with salt, stirring occasionally. Add garlic once onions are translucent and beginning to brown. Stir occasionally to keep garlic from burning, but allow time for onions to caramelize.

2. Once they turn a dark brown, turn off the burner, and add the balsamic vinegar.

3. Remove crust when ready but keep the oven on. Spread the onion/garlic/balsamic mixture onto the crust. Slice the tomatoes in half and arrange on top of the onion mixture.

4. Return tart to oven. Once the edges of the tart are lightly browned and the tomatoes are cooked (starting to break and release their juice, or wrinkly, or swollen), remove. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and serve.

I did manage to plant some mums last weekend on the porch so that has been the one colorful thing in my week. The city is covered in mums, which is the only way I know it is fall since there are no pretty trees changing colors 😦

Leave a Reply

