Black Bean Brownies

Have you heard of VeganMoFo? Thanks to January from Earth Remedy for letting me know about it, I can’t believe I didn’t discover this sooner (although, I am relatively new to veganism so I guess I should give myself a break…). I’m so bummed I’m too late to sign up for it but apparently it is a monthly vegan enthusiast phenomenon dubbed the Vegan Month of Food. Bloggers will write about all things vegan – how they got started, favorite products or cooking techniques, and of course, a ton of great recipes! If you are new to veganism like I am (or even if your not) this is a great place to stock up on some fabulous healthy meals! So to do my little part to (unofficially) participate I decided to make some vegan brownies. In what bizarre world do black beans and chocolate go well together? Mine! Yes friends, this is a delicious rendition of brownies made with a base of black beans. Enjoy!

Vegan Black Bean Brownies – Recipe from Happy Herbivore

Ingredients:

  • 15 ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 whole bananas
  • ⅓ cup agave nectar
  • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup raw sugar (optional – I used NuNaturals Stevia)
  • ¼ cup instant oats

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease an 8×8″ pan and set aside.

2. Combine all ingredients, except oats, in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.

3. Stir in the oats and blend again until smooth. Pour batter into the pan. Bake approximately 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

4. Allow to cool before slicing. If you find these brownies are too soft or too fudge-y, add another 1/4 cup oats or flour.

12 responses to “Black Bean Brownies

  1. My sister has made brownies with black beans before and i loved them!! You can’t even tell that it’s a bean base 🙂

  2. I’m still skeptical but omg they look really yummy, and it doesn’t hurt that I have all these ingredients ;D

  3. Lol I just don’t know if I can get on this bandwagon… I’ve tried a chickpea based cookie dough recipe and it tasted like chickpeas with some sugar…

  4. Oooooh yum, this is a great idea and a fantastic use of beans! Great post.

  5. First, I am totally trying this recipe. Finally a brownie! Second, I am so sad you can’t get in officially on Vegan Mofo! Booooooo! However, I would recommend you still post stuff and use the #VeganMoFo tag and people will still come. Did you download the 100+ RSS feed on the Vegan MoFo website? This way you can go through the posts fast and then comment on a lot of them and in return, most of them will come back to your site… 🙂

  6. i haven’t seen a black bean recipe with bananas yet! i gotta try it 🙂

  7. omg, just bookmarked this recipe! Can’t go wrong with bananas in baked goods 🙂

  8. These look so fudgy and delicious!!

  9. i have thought about trying black bean brownies a thousand times…but haven’t done it. and bananas? YUM

  10. I’ve been so curious about black bean brownies lately. It’s so cool to see so many different recipes for them, but then it’s hard to decide which one to try!

Leave a Reply

