Carrot Cake Bites

I’ll be honest, I didn’t have a lot of faith in these. A majority of my desserts end up being failures for one reason or another but much to my surprise, these turned out great! Recipe adapted from The Purple Carrot.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat bread flour (or your choice of flour)
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup finely shredded coconut
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped almonds (or other nut)
  • 1 cup finely shredded carrots (I used Grimmway Farms)
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Optional: 1 Tablespoon of coconut oil

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven at 375.

2. In large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt and oats. Add carrots, almonds, raisins, coconut and cinnamon.

3. In separate bowl, mix together agave, vanilla, and applesauce (coconut oil if using). Add to flour mixture and stir until combined.

4. Drop onto parchment paper lined baking sheets, about 1 tablespoon in size. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden. (I made mine a bit bigger so I baked mine a little longer)

14 responses to “Carrot Cake Bites

  1. yum! You had me at carrot cake 🙂 And the recipe is simple. I think I’ll try these and make a healthy cheesecake dipping sauce for them. Nothing goes better with carrot cake than cheesecake frosting. 🙂

  2. Those look scrumptious! They remind me a bit of some I made awhile ago that I just unearthed from the freezer…except instead of coconut as a secret ingredient, mine had dried cherries, chocolate, and peanut butter. 😉

  3. freaking awesome! i bookmarked this.

  4. Ack. Im making these right now.. Is it baking powder or soda?

  5. Pingback: Eating : Vegan Carrot Cake Bites | My Good Cents

  6. WOW! Carrot cake is actually my favorite dessert of all time. No joke. Even before red velvet cake and dark chocolate (which is saying a LOT.) But, I don’t often eat it because it’s not always the healthiest thing. Well, these are a nice solution to that little predicament. Bite size carrot cakes! Love! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Vegan Carrot Cake Bites

Leave a Reply

