Coconut banana bread with lime glaze

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a great weekend. I did a lot of cooking and…I went skydiving!!! It was unbelievable, if you haven’t done it, you should definitely add it to your bucket list.


On to the food. I have been meaning to make this recipe for a while and I’m so glad I finally got around to it this weekend. I love banana bread but I wanted something a little different, so this is ‘nana bread with a twist. Original recipe from Not the Normal Teenage Fare.

Coconut Banana Bread with Lime Glaze:

  • 2  cups  whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup  NuStevia (or regular sugar)
  • 1/4  cup  butter, softened (can also use applesauce to make it healthier, I used half butter, half applesauce – compromise…)
  • 2  large eggs
  • 3 medium ripe banana
  • 1/4  cup  plain low-fat yogurt or greek yogurt
  • 2  tablespoons  fruit juice (any flavor)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon coconut extract (optional – I didn’t have this)
  • 1/2  cup  flaked sweetened coconut (toasted)
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2  cup  powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  fresh lime juice (I needed more than this)
  • Optional – boys drinking beer in the background….they wouldn’t move haha

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt, stirring with a whisk to combine.

3. Place NuStevia (or sugar) and butter (or alternative) in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended (about 1 minute).

4. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

5. Add banana, yogurt, juice, coconut extract, and vanilla; beat until blended.

6. Add flour mixture; beat at low speed just until moist. Stir in 1/2 cup toasted coconut.

7. Spoon batter into a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray; sprinkle with 1 tablespoon coconut.

8. Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack; remove from pan.

9. Combine powdered sugar and juice, stirring with a whisk; drizzle over warm bread (mine wasn’t working though so I nuked it in the microwave for about 15 seconds and then drizzled.) Cool bread completely on wire rack.

7 responses to “Coconut banana bread with lime glaze

  1. What an amzing experience to go skydiving – have always wanted to try it! And a fantastic recipe too – like the coconut and lime, makes it different!

  2. That bread looks absolutely delicious! And I’ve always wanted to go skydiving! I have friends that have gone but I was never in the right state at the right time to go along!

  3. shiningfromwithin

    ahhhh!!! I can’t believe you went skydiving! it’s on my bucket list… i am dyinggggg to go!

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    You are such a dare devil!!! I definitely want to go sky diving but I feel like I would chicken out at the last minute! Its on my bucket list though!!!

  5. I want to go skydiving SO badly! My grandfather is dying to go, but he’s been sick for a while and I don’t think his doctor will let him. I may have to do it anyway!

  6. Pingback: Product Reviews and Giveaway | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a Reply

