Healthy Potato Salad

Now that summer finally decided to show up I am trying to cram all of my summer eats into the few short months we have left. And nothing says summer like BBQs! I tend to pass up the potato salad, all yellow and gooey at the end of the table, usually untouched but I decided there has got to be a better way to make it. Apparently Vegetarian Times was thinking the same thing when they published this fabulous Update Potato Salad recipe in this months issue. I was hesitant because not only do I not particularly like traditional potato salad, this recipe calls for mustard, with I can’t stand! However, I went with it anyways and I’m so glad I did, it was fabulous, and you couldn’t even taste the mustard because of how it was mixed with the yogurt, which they say gives it a tangy light flavor. Oh yeah, bonus, this has no mayo to speak of! Love it!

Updated Potato Salad – Via Vegetarian Times P. 61

Ingredients

  • 2 lb. fingerling potoates cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup plain low-fat yogurt
  • 1/4 cup whole-grain mustard
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 small red bell pepper, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 3 celery stalks, diced (about 1 cup) Include leaves, it adds flavor and texture
  • 1/2 small red onion, diced (about 1/2 cup)

Directions

1. Place potatoes in a large pot of water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and cook for 5-6 minutes or until potatoes are tender but not too soft.

2. Meanwhile, whisk together yogurt, mustard, and olive oil in a large bowl. Stir in red bell peppers, celery and onion.

3. Drain potatoes, rinse under cold water and add to yogurt mixture, stirring to coat. Season with S&P and serve.

Stats: 1-cup serving has 134 cals, 4 g protein, 2 g total fat, 24 g carbs, 2 g fiber, 3 g sugar.

11 responses to “Healthy Potato Salad

  1. This looks so good, I haven’t had potato salad in ages! this reminds me that I miss it.

    Whitney

  2. This looks really good. I like that this recipe uses yogurt over mayo for creaminess. Do you think chives or dill would be good additions to this one?

  3. What about Greek Yogurt? Do you think that would be good as well?

  4. shiningfromwithin

    woahhhh 1/4 cup mustard YUM! love me some mustard 🙂

  5. I haven’t had potato salad in soooo long! I think I’m going to try this with sweet potatoes 🙂

  6. I sub plain greek yogurt in every recipe that calls for mayo or sour cream and if I wasn’t the one making it … I don’t think I’d be able to tell a different!

  7. I saw this one in my mag and almost made it but went with the avocado potato salad on the ppk since I had some avocados that were getting ripe. Will try this one next.

Leave a Reply

