Baked Falafel Pitas with Yogurt-Tahini Sauce

I am always on the look out for new meal ideas that I haven’t tried to make yet. And since my 28 day plant-based diet challenge I have had a particular interest in vegetarian and vegan recipes. I had ordered a falafel pita at a restaurant and wanted to try making it myself.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas/garbanzo beans
  • Β 1 cup of chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons of parsley
  • 2-4 tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 4 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • Whole wheat pitas, chopped tomatoes, chopped cucumber and spinach

Sauce:

  • 2/3 cup of plain fat-free yogurt (you can also use sour cream)
  • 1/3 cup of Tahini sauce (or soy sauce)
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 2-3 tablespoons water (as much as needed to get consistency desired)
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place all ingredients except the flour and baking powder into a food processor and pulse until well chopped but not pureed. Add flour and baking powder and pulse a few times to combine. Test mixture to see if it is holding together well enough to form balls, add flour as needed.

2. Spray a baking dish with cooking spray then shape mixture into golf ball sized balls, placing them on your dish with some space between them. Bake until browned on top, about 15-20 minutes (mine took a bit longer, I think I should have added some more flour).

3. Meanwhile, you can prepare the sauce. Combine ingredients and whisk together, add water to reach the desired consistency.

4. Serve falafel balls in a whole wheat pita (I used weight watchers), with spinach, tomatoes and cucumbers. Sprinkle yogurt sauce on top. This would be great with hummus as well. I served mine with Yogi Chips which are all natural and gluten-free!

10 responses to “Baked Falafel Pitas with Yogurt-Tahini Sauce

  1. shiningfromwithin

    i love falafel! yummmie πŸ™‚

  2. These look incredible!! I love falafel so so much!! I make them at home a lot too, they are just so easy but so delicious!

  3. Your falafel looks unbelievably good! I’ve tried making my own falafel once, but it was an utter failure. I am for sure saving this recipe for later, as I have yet to find somewhere by me to satiate my falafel craving. Thanks!

  4. these look great I love falafel but have only made it once and it didnt turn out that great haha.

  5. Yum, falafel is probably my favorite thing in the entire world! I love falafel in a pita with tahini sauce, lettuce, tomato, pickled beets, and cucumber! Droooooll. πŸ™‚

    Whitney

  6. Falafel… Nom nom. I love them. πŸ™‚

  7. A very interesting take on a classic recipe! i have baked falafel only once before and it turned out great.
    I never use canned chickpeas because you will have to add flour to it to balance out the liquids in it…but i will defiantly try your recipe soon. i love your photos, they look very delicious πŸ™‚

  8. You keep posting the most delicious recipes! Another one to bookmark πŸ™‚

  9. Another amazing recipe, I need to bake a falafel asap! πŸ˜€

  10. Those look so yummy! I love falafel sandwiches. I make a Chicken Shawarma that is so amazing, but the best part is the sauce. It’s very similar to what you used. I use it as a salad dressing and dip, too. Yum!

Leave a Reply

