“Creamy” Artichoke and Green Bean Rotini

Well I am rounding out my last few days as a vegan (at least as strict at the Engine 2 Diet is, I am starting to like it I think….shh don’t tell Corey!) One of the hard things about this diet is that I can’t just throw a pizza in the oven on the nights I don’t feel like cooking. I found that the solution to this is pasta, doesn’t get much easier plus you can throw in any veggies that are close to going bad that you need use up. When I was feeling especially uncreative one night I turned to my ever reliable Twitter followers for help. I got several great dinner ideas and saved them all but this night I decided to try Chelsey’s “Creamy” Artichoke and Green Bean Rotini from Clean Eating Chelsey. This was so easy to make, I always have the ingredients on hand (or a variety of ingredients I can use) and it was awesome! Thanks Chelsey! I adapted it slightly to fit my diet and match the ingredients I already had (there was no way I was running to the grocery store).

Ingredients

  • 1 box of pasta (I chose quinoa pasta but whole grain or wheat pasta works too)
  • 1 cup of frozen green beans
  • 1 can of artichoke hearts
  • 1/2 sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • Veggies broth for sauteing
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup of oven-roasted tomatoes

Cream Sauce:

  • 1 tbsp. vegan margarine
  • 1 tsp. gluten free or whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup hummus
  • 3 tbsp. nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Start cooking your pasta per the directions on the package. While waiting for your water to boil, begin your cream sauce.

2. Start by melting your vegan margarine in a small saucepan. Then, add your almond milk, hummus, nutritional yeast, and dijon mustard. Whisk until smooth.

3. Add your spices and simmer over low heat for ~5 minutes.

4. While your sauce is simmering, chop your vegetables and place all but the artichokes in a skillet with veggie broth and a splash of water. Heat over medium high heat until tender. Add your artichokes and heat for an additional 2 minutes.

5. Toss your pasta and vegetables with the cream sauce and serve! I am so sorry, but I was so hungry that I ate the whole thing and forgot to take a picture! I’ll be making this again soon though so I will add the picture later….or you can just make yourself and check it out πŸ˜›

17 responses to ““Creamy” Artichoke and Green Bean Rotini

  1. oh my word, that does look creamy. i want it for lunch!

  2. shiningfromwithin

    That looks delicious! Holla for you wanting to stay vegan πŸ™‚

  3. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub

    this looks so delish!!

    glad to hear you’ve been having a great vegan experience! πŸ™‚

  4. Looks great, girl!! Artichoke hearts are so tasty!

  5. i have never thought of putting hummus into my pasta sauce. was it weird? i’m guessing not since you inhaled it haha

  6. Looks great!!! I am obsessed with the massaged kale salad and the Collard green sushi wraps that you had on your blog from your cooking class – sooo good and simple!

  7. ohh that does look creamy and delicious! I am the same way with needing something quick and easy, it’s why all last week I ate so many salads and skillet roasted veggies. Nothing too creative but yummy and nourishing!

    Thanks again for the awesome Nana’s and Co giveaway! πŸ™‚

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    This looks GREAT! I love artichokes and green beans so I am sure I’d loooove this!!!

  9. this looks fabulous I need to make it asap… nothing beats artichokes I love them!

  10. This looks so yummy! I haven’t had artichokes in a long time πŸ˜€

  11. Looks awesome Jessica! I remember seeing this on Chelsey’s blog and wanting to make it. πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: DAY 28 and Vegan Date Macaroons! | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a Reply

