Update, Winner of Giveaway and Veggie Pasta Dish

Well folks, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. Next Tuesday marks my 28th day on a plant based diet. I swore to you I would divulge all the gory details so I’ll share with you a little story from this weekend.

My parents came in town for memorial day weekend which meant lots of eating and drinking. We had lined up several reservations at restaurants Corey and I have been wanting to try for a while but were waiting for a good excuse to go. I hardly ever get to see my parents so this was as good of an excuse as any to really indulge. The first couple nights I stuck to my diet and was impressed with my ability to go out to a restaurant and stay within the strict guidelines of this diet. The last night however we ended up at our favorite restaurant in Chicago, Carnival. It is Latin inspired food with rich flavors and spices, meat and fish being their specialty. I was planning on ordering a vegetarian meal but everyone encouraged me to let loose a little and cheat since we don’t get to enjoy this kind of food very often. I agreed (considering I have only cheated a few times in the 28 days). Every bite was delicious and well worth the cheating….or so I thought. At 2:00 a.m that morning I woke up sweating and curled into the fetal position with a stomach ache I wouldn’t wish upon anyone. I was up all night and ended up having to miss a day of work. I hadn’t been this sick in years. Now I must say, I did go to extremes. I went from not eating meat, dairy, or fish for 3 weeks to eating a mixture of beef, Halibat, and ceviche (which is like sushi) and washing it all down with a sugary mojito all in one sitting – probably not the best idea. It is now 3 days later and I still feel off. I think there really is something to be said about how severe it was and that my body really does prefer the plant-based lifestyle.

Anyways, on to the good stuff! Everyone seems very interested in trying out Nana’s Cookies and I wish I could give one to you all but unfortunately only one lucky winner will walk away with the grand prize. And the winner is…….

Jenny @ Fitness Health and Food! Congratulations Jenny, I will be emailing you shortly. Can’t wait for you to give the cookies a try!

On another note, I was soooo lazy last night but I had two hungry boys men looking at my longingly, hoping their stares would get my butt in the kitchen and make them some food. (Our friend Nick is living with us until he moves into his apartment downtown – in case you were wondering who the elusive “other man” was). Anyways, I decided making them dinner was the least I could do for making them sit through the last two episodes of Oprah that I had on my DVR. I very rarely demand control of the TV but this was important and I was putting my foot down. And they won’t admit it but I know they thoroughly enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Ingredients (I cut this recipe in half for three people)

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp dried basil
  • 6 tbsp flour
  • 3 cups soy milk
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 small head broccoli, cut into florets
  • 2 medium carrot, sliced
  • 1/2 pound sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 yellow squash
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 box of brown rice pasta

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Cook the onion, garlic and basil until the onion becomes translucent, about 5-7 minutes. Stir in the flour to make a paste.

Slowly add the soy milk, stirring constantly. Stir in the nutritional yeast, then cook over low heat until the mixture thickens.

Steam the broccoli and carrot, and add to the sauce along with the mushrooms and peas. Add salt and pepper to taste, then cook until heated through.

Cook the pasta according to package directions, then serve sauce over pasta.

10 responses to “Update, Winner of Giveaway and Veggie Pasta Dish

  1. Yikes! Sorry to hear you’re feeling sick :/ My body never reacted like that when I ate dairy for the first time in six months, but when I eat too much sugar, I start getting night sweats and feel sick to my stomach- it’s crazy!

  2. Thank you so much for the wonderful giveaway! πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to eat some delicious Nana’s cookies! πŸ™‚

    So sorry to hear about your terrible stomach ache. It is really amazing how our body’s react and adapt to different diets. I hope you feel much better now! πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve had that same reaction in the past to eating dairy again after being off of it for awhile. It’s really amazing what our bodies get used to, isn’t it? I feel much better on a plant based diet.
    I can’t wait to try this recipe of yours! It looks delicious! πŸ™‚

  4. Ugh, I’m so sorry that you reacted that way to the meat. 😦 At least it was a fun day with the fam though!!

  5. Oh no! I’m sorry you didn’t feel well. The switch back to meat was super easy and painless for me (I took a month off in February), but I had been eating other animal products – occasional yogurt n’ cheese. It’s interesting how your body seems to prefer a plant-based diet.

  6. Congrats to Jenny!! Sorry you got so sick! That tends to happen to me too at times 😦

  7. That’s a really interesting story about your reaction to “going back” to meat! [Although I am sorry that it happened. :(] I’ve been thinking about trying to cut out certain foods as a way to empathize with people who have allergies or alternative diets, but I’m hesitant…I don’t want screw up my system. However, I might just find the healthiest way of eating in the process.

    Your pasta looks lovely, by the way. πŸ™‚

  8. shiningfromwithin

    yummmmmmm! pasta looks delish.

    That sucks that you got a really bad stomach ache and was peer pressured! Oh well, do what you can right? And just think to yourself, you only live once. This little slip up or whatever it is, is just a bump on the path of life. πŸ™‚ Plenty of other opportunities to make a choice you want!

  9. That stinks that you got so sick after eating foods you enjoy so much. It makes you wonder if you got sick because 1) your body wasn’t used to eating any meat, or 2) your body was rejecting the food because it truly isn’t good for your body. Onto your meal – looks awesome!! Like pasta primavera with a creamy sauce – yum!!

  10. Pingback: DAY 28 and Vegan Date Macaroons! | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a Reply

