Green Goddess Soup

After our cooking class last week I was inspired to increase my intake of greens. I found this recipe from Nicole at Flirting with Food, Fitness and Fashion and adapted it just slightly to fit the ingredients I had in my kitchen. It may look like something you would find at the bottom of a pond but it was fabulous! So easy, delicious and super nutritious!

Ingredients

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 zucchini, sliced
  • 1– 1 ½ tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ¼ tsp. white pepper
  • 24 c. chopped greens, such as kale, spinach, swiss chard, mustard greens, packed. I used 1 bunches of kale, 1 bunches of collard greens, and a huge tub of spinach.
  • 4 cups of vegetable broth
  • ½ c. loosely packed cilantro
  • ½ large avocado, or 1 whole small

Directions

1. Heat a large stock pot over medium-low heat until hot then add veggie stock and zucchini and garlic.

2. While the zucchini is cooking, mix the cumin, salt, and pepper, with about ¼ c. water.

3. Once the zucchini is soft add the spice mixture, and cook about 30 seconds.

4. Add the greens gradually, you will have to add them 1 handful at a time, stirring and letting them cook down to add more. (Add spinach last as it takes the least amount of time to cook down)

5. Add the vegetable broth, it should just cover the greens and place heat on medium high.

6. Add the cilantro and cover, bringing to a boil, then reduce the heat to simmer while covered and cook for about 20 minutes until greens are completely soft.

7. Remove from the heat and add the avocado. With an immersion blender, food processor, or working in batches with a standard blender, blend until smooth.  Adjust the seasonings if necessary, and return to simmer, 15 more minutes. Then serve!

In other news:

Lindsay at Living Lindsay tried the collard green “sushi” wraps! I love how she adapted it! She is also having a fabulous giveaway of Manna Organics bread, enter to win 4 loaves!! Click here

Kaila at Healthy Helper is having a giveaway as well. Enter to win 3 boxes of Uncle Sam’s Cereal and a cookbook. Click here

I have another cooking class tomorrow so stay tuned for more awesome shtuff!

24 responses to “Green Goddess Soup

  1. That looks delicious! I’m going to have to make this…especially with all the zucchini starting to pop up inexpensively at the market. 🙂

  2. Ooooh I want to eat this and turn into a goddess!

  3. I would have to try it with the zucchini! I am glad you like it! 🙂

  4. Oh my heavens this sounds so delicious and healthy, I’m going to have to stock up on some greens so I can make this!

  5. Looks yummy!! I love green recipes 🙂

  6. I think I would love that soup – and I’m loving your recipe posts lately because I seem to have everything on hand! 🙂 But I think if I presented this to my husband, he would rather skip dinner – and he doesn’t skip dinner. Haha 🙂 Thank you for the giveaway shout-out!! 🙂

  7. Again, I couldn’t have found your blog at a better time! So many awesome veggie recipes to choose from 🙂

  8. Yum! This looks really good, soup is my favorite!
    Hope you had a good weekend!

    Whitney

  9. I’m so excited for you and your cooking classes those dishes seriously look amazing!!

  10. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Thanks for the link love darling! That soup looks fantastic! Reminds me of a green monster but hot!

  11. Wow this looks really tasty and definitely nutritious! 🙂

  12. Premium avocados are delicious sliced on top of soup!

  13. ooh yum! this looks delish! (anything with the words “green goddess” grab my attention in a jiffy!) thanks for the recipe idea!

  14. So much green…I love it!! Seriously, this soup sounds delish!!

  15. shiningfromwithin

    looks delish! I love green foods – I feel super energized after eating them 🙂

  16. I LOVE the look of this soup, soo deliciously green and packed with chlorophyll! 🙂 It makes me veggie-happy!

    Thanks so much for sharing, can’t wait to see what you learn at your next class 🙂

  17. This looks delicious. I just can’t get enough of spinach and kale. I want to try this recipe!!!

  18. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub

    this soup looks delicious!

  19. Pingback: DAY 28 and Vegan Date Macaroons! | Dishin' About Nutrition

  20. Pingback: My Manicotti Man | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a Reply

