Rip’s Sweet Potato Bowl

I made this recipe from the Engine-2 diet book from Rip Esselstyn. It was super easy to make and was done in less than 5 minutes. The ingredients are simple and I always have them laying around. It didn’t take much for me to get full so a serving lasted me two days.

Ingredients

  • 1 large sweet potato, skin removed, cooked and cut into cubes
  • 1/2 cup of frozen mango
  • 1/2 cup of seeded and chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 avocado, peeled, seeded and chopped
  • 1/4 cup of fresh chopped cilantro
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • Balsamic vinegar to taste

Directions

Warm the sweet potato in the microwave. When fully cooked, chop into small cubes and place in a bowl. Top with mango bell pepper, black beans, avocado, and cilantro. Drizzle with lime juice and balsamic vinegar, stir gently and serve!

Day 7 of my 28-day challenge:

After I experienced some withdrawals I have started to feel better than ever. I have stuck strictly to the diet and I’ve been surprised at how easy it’s been. I was anticipating food boredom and difficulty cooking without oil but I experienced the complete opposite. I have noticed a boost in energy, regularity in digestion and a good mood all the time!

Don’t forget!

You have one more day to cash in your deal on California Avocados direct for 25% off your order if you enter the promotional code “Jessica”.  Click here to check out the website.

10 responses to “Rip’s Sweet Potato Bowl

  1. Glad to hear that you’re seeing more positive results! I am very curious to hear your thoughts on the change at the end of the 28 days. This recipe looks awesome, as I love the combination of sweet and savory flavors in this dish.

  2. I love following your challenge. This salad looks so delicious, I think that is a very common misconception that once you give up meat that your meals become boring… I think they become better than ever!

  3. That’s great to hear! Do you think it’s something you might stick with or do you miss dairy and meat? That bowl looks good – I love everything in there! 🙂

  4. So glad to hear that things are much better now! Your veggie bowl looks amazing! Love the avocado in it!

  5. I am obsessed with sweet potatos and avocados. This looks delicious! I would love to try it (:
    Congratz on sticking with your challenge, keep it up !!!

  6. Wow yummy veggie and glad that you’re sticking to your diet! Can’t be easy 😀

  7. Hi Jessica! This dish looks delightful. Avacado is my latest obsession. Are you using it as a meal?
    Best of luck with the diet, glad to hear it’s getting easier! You make me want to try it too.

  8. shiningfromwithin

    that looks deeelish! I love seeing someone transition to a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle for a month. It’s great to see it through someones perspective and tell it like it is, because transitioning to a whole new lifestyle can be super challenging. glad you’re feeling better!

  9. Pingback: DAY 28 and Vegan Date Macaroons! | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a Reply

