Polenta with Mushrooms

I am not a huge fan of mushrooms in general but I love them when they are sautéed just right. I was looking for a recipe to use up the leftover polenta from my polenta lasagna and I came across this polenta with mushrooms recipe from Mario Batali. I adapted it a bit but I was pleasantly surprised and interested in experimenting more with mushrooms however the BF hates them with a passion 😦 I guess he can always fend for himself 😛

Ingredients: (amount to your liking)

  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Pre-cooked polenta, sliced into rounds
  • Chopped rosemary
  • Chopped mushrooms
  • Chopped onion
  • Garlic
  • Parmesan
  • S&P

Directions:

1. Place sliced polenta rounds in a greased baking dish and place under the broiler for 5 minutes per side until crispy brown.

2. Heat olive oil in a skillet and add mushrooms, onions, and balsamic vinegar, saute for 3 minutes. Add garlic, rosemary, S&P and cook for an additional 5-10 minutes.

3. Place the polenta rounds on a plate and top with mushroom mixture. Top with a sprinkle of parmesan (and parsley if you have it/want it for presentation).

11 responses to “Polenta with Mushrooms

  1. Mmm! I am on the same page with you–generally not a fan of mushrooms…unless they’re done right. And “with balsamic vinegar” usually counts as done right 🙂

  2. I’m not a big mushroom person either haha! Just like the bf, but I definitely would try this!

  3. I’ve never had polenta before, I gotta try it soon 🙂

  4. I’ve never had polenta either, but I love mushrooms. I keep seeing so many recipes using polenta, I need to try it!

  5. This is a great recipe! I’ve always wondered what to do with precooked polenta 🙂

  6. I haven’t had polenta, just like Jenny..I always see/hear about it. What does it taste like?

  7. Pingback: The Dangers of Gardening « Living Simply By Going Backwards

  8. Pingback: Polenta Stacks with Spicy Spinach, Coppacola, and Smoked Gouda « Cow Tales By a Cowgirl Cook

Leave a Reply

