Zucchini Potato Cakes

So I don’t know what has been wrong with me lately but I have just not been in the cooking mood. Let me rephrase – I’m not in the mood to cook for three hours. Sometimes, after a long day at work, I just want to whip something up that is easy, healthy and tastes good. I also need recipes that have simple ingredients that I have on hand at all times. This is usually called “grilled-cheese night” but I don’t see any veggies in that sentence, and this girl needs her veggies! I found this fab recipe on Key Lime Pie Kitchen and gave it a try last night. I think I may have gone a little overboard with the pepper but all in all I would say this is a great side dish!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Russet potatoes, peeled and grated
  • 2 small zucchini, grated (yellow squash works too)
  • 1/2 bunch kale, stems removed, wilted, and finely chopped (ends up being about a cup. You can also substitute spinach here if you’d like)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour (or gluten-free brand if you have a wheat allergy)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • Oil for pan frying

Directions

1. In a mixing bowl, combine grated potato, grated zucchini, and wilted kale.  Squeeze out as much water as possible.  Then add egg, flour, salt, and pepper, and stir until completely combined.

2. Heat a large fry pan over medium high heat and add a shallow layer of oil.  Once the oil is hot, make patties of the potato mixture in your hands one at a time, and carefully add them to the hot oil.  The oil should be bubbling around the sides of the potato pancakes.  If it’s not, your oil isn’t hot enough and your pancakes will absorb too much oil and come out greasy.

3. When the second side has browned, remove from pan with a spatula and place on a plate covered in paper towels to absorb some of the oil. Continue cooking the rest of your potato pancakes this same way, adding more oil to the pan in between batches if necessary.

In Other News:

I finally decided to make a facebook page for Dishin’ About Nutrition so come over and “like” me to join the partayy!

Enter the awesome giveaway over at Fave Diets and sin yourself some Artisana nut butters! Click (here) to enter.

Questions:

What are your plans for Easter/Passover? Do you have any traditions?

What are your thoughts on juicing? Is it better to actually eat fruit and vegetables or do you think juicing still gives you all of the nutrients and is a great way to incorporate more F&V into your diet? (I’m on the fence about this one)

12 responses to “Zucchini Potato Cakes

  1. I would love to try these with yellow squash..yumm!

  2. These look incredible. I’m definitely making these this weekend.

  3. oooh ooh they are so cute! yum!

  4. This looks really good! I wonder how it would be with sweet potatoes instead of Russets.

  5. Oh my goodness! Potatoes and zucchini together sound fabulous! and they don’t look greasy at all, love it!

  6. mmm that recipe looks AWESEOM! I’ll have to try it!

    I definitely believe in juicing! I got a juicer a couple months ago and LOVE It. The only thing is, it’s worth it to invest in a GOOD juicer. You’ll get more nutrients that way…check out the gerson therapy recommendations!

  7. Yum I’ve never made anything like this before

  8. Zucchini must be on the minds of many today! I just posted a blog about zucchini and have read several other blogs that mention zucchini! love it! We are all on the same wave length apparently! PS those look amazing!

  9. Another great recipe! My Easter traditions are 100% Greek haha! Two lambs in the backyard, Midnight Mass and lots of red eggs!

  10. I definitely bookmarked this! We don’t really celebrate Easter… we just eat a lot, haha!

  11. Oooo these look really good! I’d definitely pick eating fruit over juicing! Not sure which is better, I just like whole fruit 😛

  12. I totally dont have any traditions with the hubs! as a kid it was easter hunts and home cooked meals with my fam… P and I need to get some holiday traditions going! we have some for xmas and new years… but thats it so far!

    the zucchini cakes look yummy!!!! i love that veggie like woah!

Leave a Reply

