Honey baked chicken fingers

I found this fabulous recipe on Fave Diets and was so excited to try it. Everybody loves chicken fingers. It is the staple meal that kid order at a restaurants, maybe second next to buttered noodles. Thankfully those days of picky palates are over and we can now enjoy a much more healthifed grown up version! The best part about it is, it was super easy to make. And on those night when you work late, your tired and reallllly don’t feel like cooking – this is the kind of recipe you want to have in your back pocket.

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs (or egg whites)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 cups high fiber cereal, ground (I also added some ground popchips, melba toast and Panco crumbs for variation this is where you can get creative with it)
  • 1 pound chicken tenders or chicken breasts, cut into strips

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

2. Beat egg whites in a small bowl. Add the honey and beat with a whisk.

3. Pour cereal crumbs (and other crumbs if you chose to use them) onto a plate.

4. Dip chicken strips into the egg white mixture, then into the crumbs to coat.

5. Place strips in a single layer on an ungreased baking sheet (you can line the sheet with foil or parchment paper to make clean-up easier).

Pardon the cheesy heart shaped pan 🙂

6. Bake for 12 minutes, or until cooked through

I served mine with a plate of kale, asparagus bundles, and butternut squash for a healthy, delicious meal!

16 responses to “Honey baked chicken fingers

  1. Ooh, there’s a pretty good chance my son would gobble this up! How do you prepare your kale? The only way I have ever had kale is kale chips or in soup. Do you just steam or sautee it like spinach?

  2. This is awesome! So happy to see that this recipe turned out well for you 🙂

  3. This looks so good! A healthy twist on a kid classic! I would add in some crushed pecans to the mix too!! 🙂

  4. MmMm! i LOVE honey and chicken! These sound so good!

  5. This brings me back 😉

  6. i’m loving sautee’d Kale!

  7. These look good! I LOVE chicken fingers 😉

  8. mmm I love that you combined melba toast and whole grain flakes, then you get crunch and flavor. Looks delish! 🙂

  9. So much better than fast food chicken fingers!! Love it!

  10. my bf would loveee those chicken fingers !

  11. my bf would loveee those chicken fingers !

  12. Ooh I am saving this recipe!! Thanks! 🙂

  13. That looks good! And healthy! I love baked chicken, so much better than frying it! I did a post on my version of crispy chicken skewers here: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/2011/07/21/theres-nothing-like-nuggets-and-boobies/. Please check it out and let me know what you think. Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

Leave a Reply

