Glazed Beets

I have been dying to try making beets but was always intimidated for some reason. Turns out my hesitation was pointless. This was so easy and they turned out great! Beets are low in fat and is full of potassium, fiber, iron and vitamins A and C, just to name a few great health benefits. I adapted this recipe from the lovely Christina over at Hungry Meets Healthy.

Makes 10 servings.
Ingredients:

  • 2 bunches of red or golden beets, tops trimmed, skin on
  • 1/3 cup of Truvia (or sugar)
  • 1 tablespoon red or white wine vinegar
  • 3 tbsp Cherry juice (or orange juice)
  • 1 cup low sodium chicken stock (or veggie stock)
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • salt, as needed
  • ground black pepper, as needed

Directions:

1. Place the beets in a large pot and cover with water. Bring the water to a boil, reduce to a simmer, and cook the beets until they are soft when pierced with a fork, about 40 minutes.
2. Drain and cool slightly. Slice the beets into 1/4-in thick rounds, or in wedges.
3. In a sauté pan, combine sugar, vinegar, juice, broth, and butter and bring to a simmer. Cook gently until the glaze has the consistency of a light syrup, about 15 minutes.
4. When ready to serve, toss the cut beets in the glaze over medium heat. Season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

In other news:

Fellow Foodie Bloggers: Be sure to enter the WIW on Peas and Crayons

Kimmie over at Yoga, Life and Love is having a fab giveaway called “my favorite goodies”. Head over there to give her some love and enter to win cool stuff!!  http://bit.ly/h9bYYc

13 responses to “Glazed Beets

  1. I just recently started liking beets so ill have to give this dish a try 🙂

  2. yum! I’d add some goat cheese just for the hell of it 🙂

  3. ahahaha you BEET me to it! I was going to make this tonight! Did you absolutely love them? I’m super excited to try out this recipe from christina and now you too! ❤ yay!

    Happy WIAW dahhhling! =)

  4. I’ve never had beets before! I think it’s time i give them a try lol

  5. i am terrified of beets! What do they taste like?

  6. Pingback: Wine Glaze » Glazed Beets | Dishin' About Nutrition

  7. I’ve only had beets a couple times, but they’re pretty tasty! Love the idea of adding cherry juice to them!

  8. Haha- you were “dying” to try them- did you end up “dyeing” your hands or mouth red? Sorry, can’t resist a good pun 🙂
    Cheers!
    meri
    merigoesround.blogspot.com

    • OH my gosh yes!!! Love the pun and yes, my hands were BEET red afterwards and it took forever to scrub off! Luckily I remembered how much they stain from the last time (epic failure – needless to say I don’t own that shirt anymore…) so I wore a really sexy apron this time 😉

  9. I also just recently started cooking beets. I started out by boiling them and then read somewhere that they are tastier roasted. I’ve been roasting every since and keeping the nutrients in the beets and not in the water. They also very tasty roasted!

Leave a Reply

