Roasted Acorn Squash

This is a great side to have with almost anything. It is super easy to make boasts some awesome health benefits including key vitamins and nutrients and antioxidants. It’s a great way to sneak in some orange veggies 😉

Ingredients:

  • Acorn squash
  • ½ tsp of un-salted butter
  • ½ tsp of light brown sugar (or you can use healthy substitutes like agave nectar or pure maple syrup)

Directions:

1.     Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2.     Cut squash in half and gut it like a fish (haha sorry, that was gross)

3.     Poke holes throughout the inside of each half, this will allow the butter and brown  sugar to seep in and develop more flavor.

4.     Put the butter and brown sugar in the cavity of the squash.

5.     Put the squash in the oven on a dish or cookie sheet and reduce the heat to 350 degrees.

6.     Bake for 30 minutes, occasionally basting the inside of squash with the butter/sugar mixture.

7.     Let cool then either serve as is or you can fill it with something (i.e a quinoa mixture, brown rice, etc.) or you can dig (or peel) it out of its outer shell and serve it chopped or mashed.

I served mine with grilled salmon and asparagus for a delish dinner 🙂

6 responses to “Roasted Acorn Squash

  1. I LOVE squash but I have to admit, I usually go for butternut over acorn. I don’t know why. This looks so tasty though!!! Yum. Roasted veggies are always good 🙂

  2. Perfect! I love any kind of squash. I was so disappointed that the last acorn squash I bought was bad 😦

  3. I love acorn squash but I’ve never baked it before. The lazy girl in me just sticks them into the microwave lol

  4. Acorn squash is definitely one of my faves!

  5. I need to roast a butternut tomorrow. I have had it in my pantry for weeks! Any clue how long those things stay fresh for? haha!

  6. I love squash like that. Your dinner looks great!

Leave a Reply

