Roasted Chickpeas

This is a great recipe you can you use in so many ways. I used it (here) as a side with dinner, but you can also use them as a topping on a green leafy salad, an extra ingredient in a quinoa or pasta salad, or a surprising addition to a healthy, homemade trail mix – just to name a few ideas. I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com and will definitely be using it again and again!

Ingredients

  • 1 (12 ounce) can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt (optional)
  • garlic salt (optional)
  • cayenne pepper (optional)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). Rinse chickpeas under cold water.

2. Blot chickpeas with a paper towel to dry them.

3. Peel skin off of chickpeas.

4. In a bowl, toss chickpeas with olive oil, and season to taste with salt, garlic salt, and cayenne pepper, if using. Spread on a baking sheet, and bake for 30 to 40 minutes, until browned and crunchy. Watch carefully the last few minutes to avoid burning.

3 responses to “Roasted Chickpeas

  1. YUM! i am on such a chickpea kick! made some hummus today and still have a can- i have yet to try them roasted!

  2. I’ve never roasted chickpeas before, but I’ve seen so many recipes lately for them! I don’t have any cans, but I think I have some dried ones laying around. I need to get on that!

  3. I made a carmelized chickpea recipe before but never a savory one besides hummus – looks good 😀

Leave a comment