Turkey Meatballs in Slow Cooker

I have professed my love for my slow cooker (here) and (here) and now here is just another shining example of how wonderful this machine really is. I found this recipe for Turkey meatballs at HealthyEatingSimplified.com.

Ingredients:

28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 medium onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1/2 cup chopped bell pepper
1/2 teaspoon italian seasoning
1 teaspoon dried basil
salt to taste
1 pound ground turkey
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/3 cup dried parsley
2 egg whites
1/2 teaspoon dried minced onion
1 slice grainy whole wheat bread (crumble, place in a food processor, and pulse until you have 1/2 cup bread crumbs)
1/3 cup parmesan cheese
2 tablespoons canola oil
1/4 cup whole wheat flour

Directions:

1. Combine tomatoes, vinegar, onions, garlic, mushrooms, bell pepper, Italian seasoning, basil, and salt in slow cooker. Turn on Low.


2. Combine remaining ingredients, except flour and oil.


3. Form mixture into 1-inch balls. Dredge each ball in flour. Heat oil to medium in a large frying pan. Cook the meatballs in the pan until browned on all sides. Drain.


4. Transfer meatballs to slow cooker and mix into the sauce. Cover and cook on low 6-8 hours.

Serve over pasta or rice. Recipe serves about 8.

10 responses to “Turkey Meatballs in Slow Cooker

  1. I adore my slow cooker. This recipe looks delicious!

  2. I really need to use my mom’s slow cooker!

  3. ive never had turkey meatballs let alone.. use a slow cooker! i know its pretty crazy… i need to get ON IT!

  4. Oh this rocks! Crockpots are my BFF. =)

  5. oh my mom LOVES the slow cooker! and she loves her meat haha so i’m for sure passing this along to her 🙂 thanks for the great recipe girl!

  6. Although I’ve been a vegetarian for over 6 years now, sometimes I just crave a meatball on top of my spaghetti! Usually I make “beanballs” to satisfy my craving (which I swear are just as good…in their own way!). I love that your recipe soaks in the sauce though–I definitely want to try them in the slow cooker like this next time 🙂

  7. I’m not a big fan of pasta, but hand me a plate of meatballs and I’m a happy camper! These look delicious and they’re turkey meatballs – my favorite! 🙂

  8. Yay for slow cooker recipes!

  9. Pingback: Snowed in! | Dishin' About Nutrition

  10. Pingback: Cilantro-lime Chicken Tacos in the Crock Pot! | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a Reply

