Homemade Graham Crackers

I know I said earlier (here) that I won’t post many dessert recipes, I’m just not a dessert kind of girl, but for some reason these looked too good to pass up. I found a recipe on HeavenlyHomemakers.com that “healthified” this dessert.

Ingredients

2 ¼ cups whole wheat flour
½ cup rapadura or sucanat (dehydrated cane sugar juice) brown sugar
1 t. baking powder
½ t. baking soda
½ t. salt
¼ t. cinnamon
4 T. honey
¼ c. water
1 t. vanilla
1 stick butter, melted

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Melt stick of butter in a pan on the stove.  Set aside.

3. In a mixing bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

4. Add the liquids: honey, water, vanilla and melted butter.

5. Stir well until a nice ball of dough is formed.

6. Cut two pieces of Parchment paper the size of the cookie sheet.

7. Lay one piece of parchment paper on the cookie sheet.

8. Place the ball of dough on the parchment paper.

9. Lay the other piece of parchment paper on top of the ball of dough.  Squish dough down a little with your fist.

10. Use the rolling pin to roll the dough between the pieces of parchment paper.  Roll until the dough covers the whole cookie sheet. (you know I don’t bake when my rolling pin is a wine bottle 😉 )

11. Remove the top piece of parchment paper.  Cut rolled dough into 2 inch squares, or cut shapes with cookie cutters, being sure to separate the shapes from the surrounding dough a little.

12. Bake in oven for 18 minutes.

13. Turn oven off, but leave crackers in the oven to get crisp.

14. Remove from oven after 30 minutes to one hour.

They were a huge hit! My puppy Lola was my biggest fan 🙂

She just couldn’t get enough!!

UH98CEBJVZCD

10 responses to “Homemade Graham Crackers

  1. I’m a sucker for graham crackers, but can never find healthy store bought ones! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  2. Heart shaped graham crackers?! Super love!! 🙂 And I use a glass as a rolling pin, lol!

  3. Oh goodness, I love graham crackers! This might have to be an upcoming weekend baking project. And love that you used heart-shaped cookie cutters! So cute! (And perfect for Valentine’s Day?)

  4. I never considered making my own graham crackers. What a brilliant idea!!

  5. I have never found graham crackers without HFCS! I will be making these!

  6. ooh those look so delicious! And they are doggy friendly, hehe.

  7. I had no idea homemade graham crackers were so easy to make! I love the cute heart shapes. 🙂

  8. Genius!!!! I would never even think to make these (laziness much?!)

  9. First of all, these looks great! Secondly, I stumbled across your blog and you have some really good stuff on here. I especially like all the recipes. I will definitely be check your site out more often.

  10. I’m super excited about this recipe! I’ve been wanting to make homemade graham crackers for awhile now, and now I have absolutely no excuse. Your pooch is adorable, too! It looks like she definitely enjoyed these treats 🙂

Leave a Reply

