A Healthy Treat!

You will very rarely find desserts on this blog for a few reasons.

REASONS:

1. I believe wholeheartedly in indulging with moderation. If you only have a forbidden treat every once in a while, you might as well “go big or go home”! I find if I skimp out on a dessert, it just leaves me begging for more. Whereas if I go for a rich, full-fat, all-together sugary delight, I will be satisfied with a few bites – lessening my chance of consuming unnecessary extra calories to get my fix.

2. I am really not a dessert person. I never order dessert when I am out to dinner and I never go out of my way to make it. I try to maintain a healthy diet and the more you get in the habit of a sweet-something after dinner, the harder it is to break and go without.

3. I am a devote chocoholic. If I do reach for a dessert it will most likely be a small square of dark chocolate, 70% or more cocoa. This usually satisfies my sweet tooth.

So why the sudden change you ask? Well I saw a recipe for a healthy treat on Erika’s blog Food, Fitness and Fun. It had great ingredients and looked delicious. She asked to let her know if anyone tries it out, well Erika, it was one of my favorite desserts ever! Not only is it healthy (as far as treats go) it was so satisfying! Due to lack of ingredients, I had to switch it up a bit, but it turned out phenomenal!

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¼ cups oatmeal (I only had brown sugar flavored high fiber oatmeal – which probably ended up giving it a lot of extra flavor)
  • ¾ cup puffed rice (like Rice Krispies!)
  • 1 cup of Nature’s Path Organic Pumpkin granola
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax-seed (optional)
  • ½ cup Agave nectar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup dark chocolate chips, melted
  • 1 table spoon of nut butter

Directions:

1.    Combine all dry ingredients, except chocolate, in a large bowl.  Mix well.

2.    In a separate (microwave safe) bowl, mix together the wet ingredients, then microwave them for about 20 to 30 seconds. This will make it easier to mix and add to the dry ingredients since it can get really sticky!

3.    Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix well.  Keep mixing until the ingredients are as well-distributed as possible.

4.    Put the mixture into a shallow pan and flatten it down.  Refrigerate for an hour or so and then cut into 9 bars. (or as many as you’d like!) Keep refrigerated at all times! They get a bit sticky if left at room temperature for too long!

7 responses to “A Healthy Treat!

  1. Glad you liked them! I love the addition of nut butter and brown sugar oatmeal – maybe I’ll give that a try next time! 🙂

  2. This is the perfect healthy dessert! I love to eat something sweet at least once a day, so I could eat these all the time and still feel good about it 🙂

  3. LOVE these!! such a decadent, but oh so healthy treat!

  4. that looks delicious! I’m definitely a dessert person, but love healthy desserts that are still tasty 🙂

  5. Yum that looks soo good. I love sweets and have to do my best to eat them in moderation 🙂

  6. Looks delish! I was never a sweets person until I went vegan and now I crave desserts all the time!

  7. Pingback: Homemade Graham Crackers | Dishin' About Nutrition

Leave a Reply

