Citrus Quinoa Salad

I can check the first thing off of my To-Do/To-Try list! I tried Kylie’s recipe (of A Hungry Spoon) for Citrus Quinoa Salad. I paired it with lemon chicken and blackened red peppers. I got the double thumbs up from my boyfriend and his two friends,Β  which is a major feat – these guys are not easy to please! The salad definitely surpassed my expectations and if anyone was planning on trying it, I highly suggest it! Thanks Kylie!

Salad Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 – 3/4 cup water
  • 3 – 4 clementines, coarsely chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 firm avocado, chopped
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green onion

Dressing Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp. grated orange rind
  • Grated lemon rind from one lemon
  • 3 TBSP fresh-squeezed orange juice
  • 1 TBSP fresh-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • sprinkling of paprika
  • A drizzle of olive oil (about 1 TBSP)

Directions:

1) Whisk together dressing ingredients until well-combined; set aside.

2) Place quinoa and water in a small saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer until water is absorbed and quinoa is fully cooked (about 10 – 15 minutes).

3) Combine quinoa with vegetables. Pour dressing over quinoa mixture and stir to coat.

6 responses to “Citrus Quinoa Salad

  1. Awesome recipe! I need to shake up my quinoa recipes. This looks like a good place to start πŸ™‚

  2. Oooh! That looks awesome! I have yet to try quinoa…and its in my own pantry for months upon months. Its due time. Due time!

  3. I have yet to try quinoa, but that salad looks delicious!

  4. Yay! I’m SO happy you enjoyed the recipe (as well as the hard-to-please men!). I’m a bit jealous of your awesome jumbo bag of quinoa–our grocery store only sells it in tiny boxes (2 cups of dry), so we try to get to our co-op to buy in bulk when we can.

    Hope you have a great week πŸ™‚

    • Costco is my hero! I couldn’t believe it when I saw it there. I assumed Costco only carries products that the majority of consumers eats. And I highly doubt quinoa is one of those products (seeing as how hardly anyone besides foodies and health nuts know what it is, or how to pronounce it!), but I guess I was wrong! Looking forward to trying more of your recipes! Thanks again!

  5. I have that same giant bag of quinoa… Costco is my secret lover. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

