5 Tips For a Quick Slim Down

Want to look like Jessica Biel overnight?! Yeah, me too, unfortunately, I don’t know how to do that. Sorry if I got you excited there for a second. The truth is, we are inundated with photos of celebrities with unbelievable bodies that we in turn compare ourselves to. Well guess what? It isn’t realistic, nor is it our JOB to look like them. I like Jessica Biel because she isn’t pin-thin and shapeless. She works very hard to get, and maintain, the body she has. She also has the time to workout, is paid to look good and has the money for personal trainers and chefs. While I think it is healthy to look up to someone like Jessica, who has a fit, toned, healthy weight body, I would never expect to look like her. That’s why I’m me!

Weight loss should never be a race, you should strive to be the tortoise in the childhood tale the Tortoise and the Hare. A slow, steady weight loss ensures you are being healthy and responsible with your body, which will help you keep the pounds off for good! If you are looking forward to a big event however, and want to feel like Jessica Biel for a night, I have a few safe tricks up my sleeve. These tricks help rid the body of excess gas that can eliminate bloating, or what feels like several pounds and make you look almost instantly slimmer!

1. Balance the Carb-O-Meter. 3-5 days before your event it might be a good idea to try to back off the simple carbohydrates. These come in the form of processed foods that have been stripped of essential vitamins and nutrients. These types of foods will cause your insulin levels to waiver, your blood sugar will drop which will trigger cravings and leave you unsatisfied. Not all carbs are created equal so don’t confuse these with complex carbs (I explained the difference in more detail here). Some fruit and veggies are high in complex carbs, which we all know, fruits and veggies are good for us! So my suggestion is to learn how to read nutrition labels and decipher the different kinds of carbs. Skip the bread basket and pass the veggies!

2. Speaking of carbs….what about carbonation? Fan of the fizz? Try a few days with no carbonated drinks, your belly will thank you! If you missed my article a while ago about how pop effect your body, you can read it here. Carbonation is the reaction of high pressures of carbon dioxide in aqueous solutions. English please? Pop, soda water and champagne cause gas and therefore bloating making your pants fit tighter. Swap it with a water or tea, if you can handle the dull taste. I personally can’t stand either of them so I use half of a single crystal light packet in a bottle of water or I put a wedge of lemon in my tea to add some taste. I used to drink a Diet Coke almost every day and now, not only do I not crave it, it doesn’t even taste good to me anymore. My stomach is less bloated and I have more energy because I am not getting the “spike and fall” from artificial sweeteners.

3. Mama said it first, breakfast is the most important meal of the day! How is she always right?! Don’t settle for a bowl of sugary cereal either, make an effort to start your day off right and you will notice a difference in your energy and focus. If you are not a morning person, prepare a big batch of whole grain oatmeal mixed with quinoa on Sunday so all you have to do the rest of the week is pop in the micro. Add some fruit on top and a sprinkle of cinnamon and you’ve got a breakfast of champions! If you have no problem getting out of bed in the AM, try a veggie, egg-white omelet with a piece of fruit or whole grain toast.

4. Get your sweat on! Anyone who is been successful at weight loss will tell you their secret…there isn’t one! Healthy eating and exercise is the only (healthy, non-surgical) way to lose weight and keep it off. Make sure you make exercise a priority in your schedule, just like a meeting at work. Many people swear by jotting it down in their calendar, time slot and all! Tell a friend to meet you at the gym so you are accountable for meeting someone there and can’t back out (because what good friend would leave another friend high and dry?) Cardio is just as important as strength training, so don’t skimp out on the free weights. Work your entire body, not just the areas you want to improve on the most, remember, everything is connected! Strive for a strong body, not a skinny one and keep your internal dialogue positive. A little self talk goes a long way.

5. Snack your heart out! Rather than gearing up for three large meals a day, snack all day long. This allows your body to keep your metabolism revved, your blood sugar stable, your cravings to decrease, and best of all, you are never hungry! Make sure you chose the right snacks and are getting all of your essentials – protein, (complex) carbs, healthy fats, etc. My best snack day would include:

7am-Egg white veggie omelet with tofu, spinach, tomatoes, and onions. A half of a grapefruit and a slice of wheat toast.

9am-Hot tea with an apple and a laughing cow, low fat swiss cheese wedge

12pm- A palm sized piece of drilled chicken and quinoa with roasted asparagus and brussels sprouts and water.

3pm- A handful of lightly salted nuts and a small baggie of grapes with a bottle of crystal light flavored water.

6:30pm- A spinach and kale salad with grilled salmon, avocado, tomatoes, light feta cheese and lemon juice as dressing

8pm- A cup of relaxing hot tea and maybe a small piece of dark chocolate 😉

Do you have any quick slim tricks?

4 responses to “5 Tips For a Quick Slim Down

  1. Thanks for stopping by the blog and your comments. It means a lot when people get where i’m coming from. I’m certainly going to enjoy this ride and reading your blog. Take care.

  2. My “get slim quick tricks” include:

    1. Eating raw… lots of fruits and veggies.
    2. Nuts for protein.
    3. Drinking lots of water.
    4. Drinking green juice.
    5. Dandelion tea. Enough said. 😉

    I am glad I found your blog! Looking forward to reading more!! 🙂

  3. gosh if I could look like her… haha

    i noticed that when i stop eating a lot of sugar I do de-bloat a little. I also find just drinking enough water to match my exercise/fiber intake helps!

  4. I kind of like the eat little and often philiosophy but sometimes I like the look of a big meal, so I tend to just go with whatever I’m craving. This week it has been three big meals a day but other times I snack all day.

Leave a Reply

