Eating my way though the USA

As a die hard fan of eating, I feel it is my duty, to the people, to spread my wisdom of great eats. So here it is folks, my list of fav restaurants in the cities I frequent throughout this great country of ours!

Chicago, IL

Carnival- This fun, festive, enormous establishment is home to the best skinny girl mojito in town. Pair it with any of their authentic Latin American dishes and you will have just died and gone to foodie-heaven! I have tried at least a dozen entrees and apps and I have yet to be disappointed. Just a few blocks away from our apartment, Corey and I make sure we go here at least once a month. We start every meal off with the Ropa Vieja, which are these sweet plantains topped with succulent braised beef, spicy mayo, and a touch of queso fresco to finish it off. The perfect blend of sweet, salty and a little bit of spice.

Minneapolis, MN

D’amico & Sons- This quaint little cafe, nestled just off the shores of Lake Minnetonka in lower Wayzata, will satisfy any lunch-goer. Chose anything on their menu from their wood-fired, made-to-order pizzas and pastas, to their huge selection of antipasti and salads- I can vouch for all of them. I practically grew up on the stuff! I make it a point to stop and get some turkey and dried cherries salad every time I’m home.

Naples, FL

Cafe Lurcat/Bistro 821- This is a toss up because the sea bass at both restaurants is incredible! Both restaurants are a few blocks away from one another along chic 5th Avenue. Cafe Lurcat is actually owned by the same company as my fav MN spot, D’amico & Sons. Their sea bass is the most buttery, flakey delicious piece of fish. If you can, request a table on the balcony upstairs which overlooks gorgeous downtown Naples. At Bistro 821 the sea bass is prepared in a miso-sake marinade served with roast shallot mashed potatoes and fresh veggies. Both are just tuh-die!

Cincinnati, OH

Montgomery Inn- You haven’t had ribs until you’ve had theirs. And I have had a loooooot of ribs in my lifetime. These babies are fall off the bone, ooey-gooey delicious!

Bloomington, IN

Scholar’s Inn- The signature martini’s are delish but dangerous…and so is their short rib! Every Thursday, for two years the girls and I would enjoy ‘half of martini’ night and an amazing meal. Someone was always bound to order the short rib served with none other than good ‘ole mac and cheese. Now that’s what I call comfort food. Not exactly the healthiest option but sometimes, ya just gotta splurge!

New York City, NY

Bar Americain- My mom swears they make the best Manhattans she has ever had, and trust me, she is one to judge. She has tried to recreate it herself but just can’t do it like they can. I can’t remember exactly what we ordered but we did go back the next time we were there and each time seems to be better than the last.

Leave a Reply

