Veggie-stuffed Tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium tomatoes
  • 1 small carrot
  • 3 green onions, diced
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 5 sun dried tomatoes
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/3 cup Panco crumbs
  • 3 to 4 fresh basil leaves, thinly sliced
  • Optional: sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cut a thin slice off the top of each tomato. Leaving a 1/2-in. shell, scoop out and reserve pulp. Invert tomatoes onto paper towels to drain. (Optional – reserve tomato tops)

Meanwhile, chop the veggies, garlic, oregano, basil and reserved pulp. Heat 1/2 cup of veggie broth (or you can use oil to saute) in large skillet on medium heat. Saute vegetable mixture until tender. Add more broth as needed; simmer, uncovered, for 2 minutes or until liquid is reduced by half. Remove from the heat; cool slightly. Stir in the bread crumbs.

Stuff tomatoes and sprinkle parmesan cheese if desired on top; replace tops. Place in a shallow baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 15-20 minutes or until heated through. 

20 responses to “Veggie-stuffed Tomatoes

  1. they’re so pretty! i love stuffing tomatoes…i stuff them, then they stuff me! ha

  2. This amazes me, seriously. I love your recipes. I cannot wait to make something like this, perfect summer food!
    Hope you enjoyed your weekend!

    Whitney

  3. These look so so amazing! I wish I would have seen this before the party I threw last night, because this would have been such a yummy treat! I love little poppers like these :)

  4. I’ve never thought to stuff tomatoes before! How creative :D

  5. YUM! Those look Ah-mazing! And I just happen to have some fresh tomatoes in the fridge!

  6. These look fantastic! I love that the ingredients are mostly things we keep on hand in our house :) Great recipe, thanks!

  7. WOW. These look AMAZING!!

  8. oh these look so simple and amazing perfect for summer!

  9. wow these look fabulous! i love veggie stuffed tomatoes and peppers. So easy to make and always delicious :)

  10. They’re so cute! I love stuffed food- it just seems so fancy :)

  11. Yum! I love tomatoes especially when they are stuffed with wonderful yumminess and topped with parm! :) mm mm!

    Jess,
    Jessica (from Bright Eyes and Bushy Tales) and I are planning a chicago blog meet up. Shoot me an email at fitnesshealthandfood@gmail.com if you’re interested! :)

  12. These look delicious! Bursting with summery goodness!

  13. Pingback: Ginger and garlic braised Bok Choy | Dishin' About Nutrition

  14. Hi,
    I follow you on CES and saw this recipe today. I love the ingredients that you stuffed into that tomato. Yum. Can’t wait to try it.

  15. YUMMY!! This is my time visiting your blog and its safe to say Ill be a regular in no time. Your pics are gorgeous. I made stuffed tomatoes the other day (but I leave the tomatoes raw. I have an obession w/ raw – cooked contrast).

  16. I’ve made stuffed peppers before, but I’ve never tried making stuffed tomatoes. I’ll definitely have to keep this recipe in mind next time I get my hands on some tomatoes. This is an ideal summer recipe, thanks for sharing it in my hop.

  17. Never thought about stuffing a tomato! Those look fabulous and sound tasty! Thanx for sharing!

Leave a Reply

