Sweet and Sour Tofu

Cooking tofu is very new to me and challenging because I’m not sure how I feel about the texture. I’m going into this open minded though. I decided to try Averie’s Sweet and Sour tofu from Love Veggies and Yoga. The verdict? My boyfriend’s best friend said it was the best tofu he’s ever had, and he’s hard to please. That said, I’m not sure if it is something I could eat all the time but it was good to switch things up and try something new.

Ingredients

  • Tofu
  • 1/2 cup of sweet jam/jelly/preserves (I used sugar-free orange, Averie used mango chutney – you can use whatever you want)
  • 1/3 cup of agave nectar (or honey/syrup)
  • 1/4 cup of lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ginger

Directions

1. Drain tofu according to directions then cut into cubes or slabs. Set aside

2. Mix remaining ingredients together in a bowl and marinate the tofu in this mixture for 15 minutes – overnight in fridge. (I only had time to marinate them for about an hour).

3. Bake tofu on a baking sheet for 20 minutes at 450 degrees. Flip and bake for another 10 minutes making sure the honey does not burn. Let cool then serve!

Before:

After:

Check back tomorrow for an update on my progress of my plant-based diet :)

18 responses to “Sweet and Sour Tofu

  1. mmm. I love tofu! I thought I would hate it but it’s strangely addicting and I find myself craving it sometimes. I love to fry it :)

  2. I love baked tofu. My friends used to call it “vegan bacon” as they would slice it thinly and then bake it until it got super crispy. If the tofu was too soft for you, try baking it a little longer to dry it out a bit. If you’re interested, my baked tofu chips recipe explains my go-to tofu cooking method: http://www.favedietsblog.com/how-to-make-tofu-chips/

  3. Mmm! I don’t eat tofu, but my vegan roomie does, so I have to show her this. :) Thanks!

  4. I’m so totally clueless about how to cook tofu, but your meal looks so good! Looking forward to hearing more about the diet tomorrow! I hope it’s going well, girl!

  5. I have only used the soft tofu, i need to start incorporating it more into my daily diet!

  6. I’ve only made tofu once and I didn’t really like it so maybe this recipe can transform me into a tofu lover lol :)

  7. Ohmygosh how fun! I’m starting to dig sweet tofu recipes! all mine are actually sweet… which is weird b/c I never normally use sugar or anything close to sugar! haha =) GOOORGEOUS tofu! <3

    When are you aaaactually going to participate in WIAW *pouting* you are so overdue! haha no more recipes! i wanna see your meals! =) puhhhlease!!!!!!!???

    Hope you're having a great week dahling! <3

  8. I have learned to absolutely adore tofu – it is so versatile & adapts to whatever you are cooking. I purchased a tofu press and you would be amazed by how much water drains from it. It really changes the texture from a mushy texture to a firm texture. I love tofu stir fry and here is the link for my recipe on that and the tofu press I purchased – if you plan on sticking with veganism it might be a good investment.

    http://foodfitnessfashionista.blogspot.com/2011/01/congratulations-green-bay-packers.html

    http://foodfitnessfashionista.blogspot.com/2010/12/some-amazing-tofu-stir-fry.html

  9. Oh this looks so good. We have just started eating tofu and this looks like something we will definitely want to try.

  10. I’ve got some apricot preserves in the fridge that perhaps might need to find there way on the tofu that’s right next to ‘em…

  11. ok first, love what you did with it…but you will love it even more with a tofu press, or just PRESS the water out of it. Between two cookie sheets, cast iron pans, whatever you have. Something heavy, press. Wait. Repeat.

    Tofu Cooking Tips Post

    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2011/04/tofu-tips.html

    So glad that the boyf’s bestie loved it. high praise :)

  12. It took me a long time to acquire a taste for tofu! Even today, sometimes I love it, and sometimes not so much. It’s funny how you can crave a food one day and have a total aversion to it the next (that’s the relationship I have with tofu!). This recipe sounds really good though…I’d like to give it a try, especially since I typically like preserves in anything. :-)

    Hope you’re having a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

